Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America’s Premier Mental Hospital by Alex Beam

Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America’s Premier Mental Hospital

Alex Beam
RRP $29.95 Save 36%! ($10.89)
Price $19.06 with FREE shipping!
Buy this and get 20 Nile Miles
Ships from USA Expected delivery Aug 11 – Aug 15
?
User Rating
Rating saved

Details

  • ISBN
    9781586481612 / 1586481614
  • Title Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America’s Premier Mental Hospital
  • Author Alex Beam
  • Category Mental Health Services
    History Of Medicine
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Year 2003
  • Pages 296
  • Publisher
    PublicAffairs
  • Imprint PublicAffairs,U.S.
  • Language English
  • Dimensions 141mm x 19mm x 210mm

Annotation

An entertaining and poignant social history of McLean Hospital—a temporary home to many of the troubled geniuses of our age—this book explores the evolution of the treatment of mental illness from the early 19th century to today. of photos.

Publisher Description

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean “alumni” include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its “golden age,” McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. “Gracefully Insane,” by “Boston Globe” columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protege whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age.
This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's “The Bell Jar” and Susanna Kaysen's “Girl, Interrupted” (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

Author Biography

Alex Beam is a columnist for the “Boston Globe” and the author of two novels. He has also written for the “Atlantic Monthly,” “Slate” and "Forbes/FYI," He lives in Newton, Massachusetts with his wife and three sons.

Write a review

(never shown publicly)


Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America’s Premier Mental Hospital

19.06
InStock