The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle: A Memoir

Jeannette Walls
Price $20.42 with FREE shipping!
Buy this and get 21 Nile Miles
Ships from USA Expected delivery Nov 10 – Nov 14
?
User Rating
Rating saved

Details

  • ISBN
    9780743247542 / 074324754X
  • Title The Glass Castle: A Memoir
  • Author Jeannette Walls
  • Category Biography: General
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Year 2006
  • Pages 288
  • Publisher
    Scribner Book Company
  • Language English
  • Dimensions 132mm x 25mm x 201mm

Annotation

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's “All Over But the Shouting,” Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Publisher Description

Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family, called herself an “excitement addict.” Cooking a meal that would be consumed in fifteen minutes had no appeal when she could make a painting that might last forever.

Later, when the money ran out, or the romance of the wandering life faded, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town — and the family — Rex Walls had done everything he could to escape. He drank. He stole the grocery money and disappeared for days. As the dysfunction of the family escalated, Jeannette and her brother and sisters had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they weathered their parents' betrayals and, finally, found the resources and will to leave home.

What is so astonishing about Jeannette Walls is not just that she had the guts and tenacity and intelligence to get out, but that she describes her parents with such deep affection and generosity. Hers is a story of triumph against all odds, but also a tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that despite its profound flaws gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.

For two decades, Jeannette Walls hid her roots. Now she tells her own story. A regular contributor to MSNBC.com, she lives in New York and Long Island and is married to the writer John Taylor.

Author Biography

Jeanette Walls is the former gossip correspondent for E! Channel and “New York Magazine”'s “Intelligencer.” She can now be seen on MSNBC three mornings a week and appears on MSNBC online four days a week. Ms. Walls lives in New York City.

Write a review

(never shown publicly)


The Glass Castle: A Memoir

20.42
InStock