Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp by Odo Hirsch

Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp

Odo Hirsch
Price $16.49 with FREE shipping!
Buy this and get 17 Nile Miles
In stock with Local Supplier Expected delivery Aug 08 – Aug 13
?
User Rating
Rating saved

Details

  • ISBN
    9781741753011 / 1741753015
  • Title Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp
  • Author Odo Hirsch
  • Category General Fiction (children's/ya)
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Year 2007
  • Pages 240
  • Publisher
    Allen & Unwin
  • Imprint Allen & Unwin Children's Books
  • Edition
    1st
  • Language English
  • Dimensions 130mm x 195mm x 18mm

Annotation

Amelia Dee lives in a house on Marburg Street, with a rare Peacock Lamp outside her bedroom door.

Publisher Description

HONOUR BOOK: CBCA Book of the Year, Younger Readers, 2008..Amelia Dee lives in the green house on Marburg Street, where a rare bronze lamp hangs outside her bedroom door. No one knows where it came from or how it got there. Only she, Amelia thinks, knows the secret that the lamp contains. Bu she's wrong...When Mr Vishwanath introduces Amelia to the Princess Parvin Kha-Douri, the puzzle of the lamp becomes even deeper. Where has the princess seen it before? Why is she so bitter and angry? And most importantly, what should Amelia do about it?..In solving the mystery, Amelia risks revealing a secret of her own...Odo Hirsch is at his enchanting best in this funny, poignant story full of memorable characters and resonant ideas. Fans of Antonio S and Hazel Green will love Amelia Dee...'I have only 6 words for this book: Best book I have ever read!' - Inez, 12

Review
...a thoughtful novel which will be well received in both retail and library environments...the strength and earnestness of the characters make this a delightful read that would make an ideal book club choice.' - Bookseller & Publisher, Sept 2007

Prizes
Commended for Children's Book Council of Australia Awards: Book of the Year - Young Readers 2008.

Author Biography

Odo Hirsch was born in Australia where he studied medicine and worked as a doctor. He is now based in London. His books for children are favourites with young and old and have been translated into several languages.

Write a review

(never shown publicly)


Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp

16.49
InStock