Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House by Richard Wolffe

Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House

Richard Wolffe
Price $21.72 with FREE shipping! Delivery by Christmas not guaranteed
Buy this and get 22 Nile Miles
Ships from USA Expected delivery Dec 29 – Jan 02
?
User Rating
Rating saved

Details

  • ISBN
    9780307717429 / 0307717429
  • Title Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House
  • Author Richard Wolffe
  • Category Politics & Government
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Year 2011
  • Pages 342
  • Publisher
    Broadway Books
  • Imprint Broadway Books
  • Language English
  • Dimensions 134mm x 18mm x 204mm

Annotation

Richard Wolffe draws on unrivalled access to the West Wing to write a natural sequel to 'Renegade', his book about Obama and his campaign. Starting from the first anniversary of the inauguration, Wolffe paints a portrait of a White House at work under exceptional strain across a sweeping set of challenges.

Publisher Description

“Revival” is the dramatic inside story of the defining period of the Obama White House. It is an epic tale that follows the president and his inner circle from the crisis of defeat to historic success. Over the span of an extraordinary two months in the life of a young presidency, Obama and his senior aides engaged in a desperate struggle for survival that stands as the measure of who they are and how they govern.
Bestselling Obama biographer Richard Wolffe draws on unrivaled access to the West Wing to write a natural sequel to his critically acclaimed book about the president and his campaign. He traces an arc from near death to resurrection that is a repeated pattern for Obama, first as a candidate and now as president. Starting at the first anniversary of the inauguration, Wolffe paints a portrait of a White House at work under exceptional strain across a sweeping set of challenges: from health care reform to a struggling economy, from two wars to terrorism.
“Revival” is a road map to understanding the dynamics, characters, and disputes that shape the Obama White House. It reveals for the first time the fault lines at the heart of the West Wing between two groups competing for control of the president's agenda. On one side are the Revivalists, who want to return to the high-minded spirit of the presidential campaign. On the other side are the Survivalists, who believe that government demands a low-minded set of compromises and combat.
At the center of this compelling story is a man who remains opaque to supporters, staff, and critics alike. What motivates him to risk his presidency on health care? What frustrations does he feel at this incredible time of testing? Written by the author who knows Obama best, “Revival” is a frank and intimate account of a president struggling to adapt, enduring failure, and outfoxing his foes. It is a must-read volume, full of exclusive insights into the untold and unfinished story of a new force in world politics.

“From the Hardcover edition.”

Review
Praise for Richard Wolffe's “Renegade” “Destined to be a classic in its genre.” —Douglas Brinkley “Insightful ...A thoughtful meditation on Mr. Obama's life and character.” —Michiko Kakutani, “New York Times” “There is enough drama, and then some, in ”Renegade". It is surely not the final word—but it is as close as we are likely to get." —Ted Widmer, “Washington Post” “A superb achievement ...Wolffe's brisk, well-written narrative is fully in the tradition of Theodore White and Richard Ben Cramer.” —Michael Beschloss “An insightful, unusually moving, fully observed portrait ... Marvelous.” —Ken Burns“From the Hardcover edition.”

Author Biography

RICHARD WOLFFE is an award-winning journalist and political analyst for MSNBC television, appearing frequently on MSNBC's “Countdown with Keith Olbermann” and “Hardball with Chris Matthews.” He covered the entire length of Barack Obama's presidential campaign for “Newsweek” magazine. Before “Newsweek,” Wolffe was a senior journalist at the “Financial Times,” serving as its deputy bureau chief and U.S. diplomatic correspondent. He lives with his wife and their three children in Washington, D.C. “From the Hardcover edition.”

Write a review

(never shown publicly)


Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House

21.72
InStock