Contact Us Need Help? Call us 1800-987-323
Explore Departments
  Free shipping Australia wide

Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital

  • Paperback
An entertaining and poignant social history of McLean Hospital—a temporary home to many of the troubled geniuses of our age—this book explores the evolution of the treatment of mental illness from the early 19th century to today. of photos.
Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital
$23.60 + free shipping
Ships from USA
Expected delivery Oct 10 – Oct 12
Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. "Gracefully Insane," by "Boston Globe" columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protege whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age.
This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's "The Bell Jar" and Susanna Kaysen's "Girl, Interrupted" (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.
Alex Beam is a columnist for the "Boston Globe" and the author of two novels. He has also written for the "Atlantic Monthly," "Slate" and "Forbes/FYI," He lives in Newton, Massachusetts with his wife and three sons.
Author
Alex Beam
Language
English
ISBN-10
1586481614
ISBN-13
9781586481612
Media
Book
Format
Paperback
DEWEY
362.2
Illustrations
Yes
Year
2003
Publication Date
2003-01-31
Imprint
PublicAffairs,U.S.
Subtitle
The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital
Place of Publication
New York
Country of Publication
United States
Short Title
GRACEFULLY INSANE REV/E
Edition Description
Revised
Pages
296
Publisher
PublicAffairs
FREE DELIVERY

Delivery is free to any Australian address. No matter where your item is going.

SECURE PAYMENT

We use 100% PCI DSS compliant payment services. That means your payment information is always protected, and never gets seen by anyone.

30 DAY RETURN POLICY

Return any item within 30 days of delivery. It doesn’t matter why you want to return your item, you can free of charge!