Contact Us Need Help? Call us 1800-987-323
Explore Departments
  Free shipping Australia wide

Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House

Richard Wolffe draws on unrivalled access to the West Wing to write a natural sequel to 'Renegade', his book about Obama and his campaign. Starting from the first anniversary of the inauguration, Wolffe paints a portrait of a White House at work under exceptional strain across a sweeping set of challenges.
Revival: The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House
Product Unavailable
Revival is the dramatic inside story of the defining period of the Obama White House. It is an epic tale that follows the president and his inner circle from the crisis of defeat to historic success. Over the span of an extraordinary two months in the life of a young presidency, Obama and his senior aides engaged in a desperate struggle for survival that stands as the measure of who they are and how they govern. Bestselling Obama biographer Richard Wolffe draws on unrivaled access to the West Wing to write a natural sequel to his critically acclaimed book about the president and his campaign. He traces an arc from near death to resurrection that is a repeated pattern for Obama, first as a candidate and now as president. Starting at the first anniversary of the inauguration, Wolffe paints a portrait of a White House at work under exceptional strain across a sweeping set of challenges: from health care reform to a struggling economy, from two wars to terrorism. Revival is a road map to understanding the dynamics, characters, and disputes that shape the Obama White House. It reveals for the first time the fault lines at the heart of the West Wing between two groups competing for control of the president s agenda. On one side are the Revivalists, who want to return to the high-minded spirit of the presidential campaign. On the other side are the Survivalists, who believe that government demands a low-minded set of compromises and combat. At the center of this compelling story is a man who remains opaque to supporters, staff, and critics alike. What motivates him to risk his presidency on health care? What frustrations does he feel at this incredible time of testing? Written by the author who knows Obama best, Revival is a frank and intimate account of a president struggling to adapt, enduring failure, and outfoxing his foes. It is a must-read volume, full of exclusive insights into the untold and unfinished story of a new force in world politics.

From the Hardcover edition."
RICHARD WOLFFE is an award-winning journalist and political analyst for MSNBC television, appearing frequently on MSNBC sCountdown with Keith OlbermannandHardball with Chris Matthews. He covered the entire length of Barack Obama s presidential campaign forNewsweekmagazine. BeforeNewsweek, Wolffe was a senior journalist at theFinancial Times, serving as its deputy bureau chief and U.S. diplomatic correspondent. He lives with his wife and their three children in Washington, D.C. From the Hardcover edition."
Praise for Richard Wolffe s Renegade Destined to be a classic in its genre. Douglas Brinkley Insightful A thoughtful meditation on Mr. Obama s life and character. Michiko Kakutani, New York Times There is enough drama, and then some, in Renegade. It is surely not the final word but it is as close as we are likely to get. Ted Widmer, Washington Post A superb achievement Wolffe s brisk, well-written narrative is fully in the tradition of Theodore White and Richard Ben Cramer. Michael Beschloss An insightful, unusually moving, fully observed portrait Marvelous. Ken Burns From the Hardcover edition."
Author
Richard Wolffe
Short Title
REVIVAL
Publisher
Broadway Books
Language
English
ISBN-10
0307717429
ISBN-13
9780307717429
Media
Book
Format
Paperback
DEWEY
973.932
Year
2011
Imprint
Broadway Books
Subtitle
The Struggle for Survival Inside the Obama White House
Place of Publication
New York
Country of Publication
United States
Pages
342
Publication Date
2011-11-11
Birth
1968
FREE DELIVERY

Delivery is free to any Australian address. No matter where your item is going.

SECURE PAYMENT

We use 100% PCI DSS compliant payment services. That means your payment information is always protected, and never gets seen by anyone.

30 DAY RETURN POLICY

Return any item within 30 days of delivery. It doesn’t matter why you want to return your item, you can free of charge!