COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

A Flicker in the Clarity

by Amy McNamara

  • Hardcover
    $30.45
PUBLISHED: 21st August 2017
ISBN: 9780062308344
ANNOTATION:
Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction. All Evie wanted was her friend back-but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?
SAVE
13%
RRP $34.99
$30.45
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 1 to 3 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Hardcover
    $30.45
PUBLISHED: 21st August 2017
ISBN: 9780062308344
ANNOTATION:
Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction. All Evie wanted was her friend back-but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?

Annotation

Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.

All Evie wanted was her friend back-but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?

Publisher Description

Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.

Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie is full of regret, desperately sorry, sad, and-for the first time in her life-entirely alone.

Then Evie meets Theo, a boy who offers her a view of the world through a different lens. Just as she lets herself fall for Theo, Emma resurfaces-but not without consequence.

Emma's erratic behavior, drunken mishaps, and panicked phone calls leave Evie afraid there's something deeper going on. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.

All Evie wanted was her friend back-but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved

Author Biography

Amy McNamara is a writer whose poems have appeared in numerous journals and have been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Her first novel, Lovely, Dark and Deep, won an ILA Children's and Young Adults' Book Award, was an ABC New Voices Pick, and was nominated as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. When she's not reading stories, telling stories, or thinking about stories or poems, she can be spotted, camera in hand, documenting the incredible city she calls home. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Review

"McNamara's lyrical novel poignantly explores the damange wrought by codependent friendships. With pages teeming with evocative, figurative language and a moving focus on self-discovery, this will appeal to fans of character-driven stories about emotional growth." -- ALA Booklist "Lacerating authenticity. Distressingly plausible. There's a whiff of Fine's amazing The Tulip Touch here in the friendship that's gone too far." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "This is life as it truly is, messy and complicated, for which McNamara presents a perfectly compatible narrative." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Thoughtfully constructed. McNamara gives readers a story of friendship and learning when it's time to let go." -- Publishers Weekly

Review Quote

"Thoughtfully constructed. McNamara gives readers a story of friendship and learning when it's time to let go."

Product Details

Author
Amy McNamara
Pages
432
Audience Age
14
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN-10
0062308343
ISBN-13
9780062308344
Format
Hardcover
Country of Publication
United States
Year
2018
Publication Date
2018-06-18
Media
Book
Language
English
Audience
Children/Juvenile