COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

by Andy Riley

  • Paperback
    $14.72
ISBN: 9781444929591
ANNOTATION:
The insanely funny debut in a new children's series from Emmy award-winning comedy writer and cartoonist Andy Riley, scriptwriter for BBC One's Gangsta Granny and The Boy in the Dress.
SAVE
8%
RRP $15.99
$14.72
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 4 to 6 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $14.72
ISBN: 9781444929591
ANNOTATION:
The insanely funny debut in a new children's series from Emmy award-winning comedy writer and cartoonist Andy Riley, scriptwriter for BBC One's Gangsta Granny and The Boy in the Dress.

Annotation

The insanely funny debut in a new children's series from Emmy award-winning comedy writer and cartoonist Andy Riley, scriptwriter for BBC One's Gangsta Granny and The Boy in the Dress.

Publisher Description

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ... it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams.

'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The Guardian

Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything.

Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage!

When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

Author Biography

Andy Riley is a highly successful cartoonist and comedy scriptwriter. TV writing credits include HBO's Veep, Gangsta Granny, Robbie the Reindeer, Little Britain and Black Books. Film credits include The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists and Gnomeo and Juliet. His bestselling books include The Bunny Suicides series.

Review

...full of the most outrageous humour and brilliant detail. -- Andy Seed Hatman Reads The book is funny and fast paced. It's a dream to read alone or to share with children ... Brilliant for 7-12 year olds. Particularly recommended for boys and reluctant readers. Making Them Readers An insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning writer and cartoonist, Andy Riley Aldershot News & Mail Witty and brilliantly drawn The Carousel Andy is a comic genius and we absolutely loved this, particularly loved the fact that Charlotte could dive to the back of the book and play Emperor Nurbison's evil striding music for herself on the piano... -- Phil May Read it Daddy This book made me (and my sister) laugh out loud a lot; the story is funny, the descriptions are hilarious, the extraordinary characters have fun quirky names and the illustrations made me giggle too. [...] At the end of the book there is the music and lyrics for "The Emperor's Striding Theme" which I am learning to play because like the book it's really funny and everyone deserves a theme tune. I recommend this book to everyone because its fun, quirky and hilarious. -- Myth-hill The Guardian Children's Books Young Reviewers From creating a new evil laugh to bottomless pits, the excellent variety of villainous friends, and a particularly vocal peasant girl called Natasha, there is lots to admire here. -- Clare Zinkin Mill Hill Synagogue The funniest and most enjoyable book for this age group for quite some time. I even sang the song at the end. And apparently more to come in the series. I can't wait. -- Clare Zinkin Minerva Reads An insanely funny debut -- Ros Collins Surrey Advertiser, Aldershot News & Mail, Buckinghamshire Advertiser & Examiner This book made me (and my sister) laugh out loud a lot [...] At the end of the book there is the music and lyrics for "The Emperor's Striding Theme" which I am learning to play because, like the book, it's really funny and everyone deserves a theme tune. I recommend this book to everyone because its fun, quirky and hilarious. -- Myth-hill The Guardian Children's Books Young Reviewers With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches. -- Carrie Morris The Best New Children's Books Guide ...full of the most outrageous humour and brilliant detail. -- Andy Seed Hatman Reads ...mountains of silliness, bags of inventiveness and lots of charm! -- Caroline Horn Reading Zone The funniest and most enjoyable book for this age group for quite some time. I even sang the song at the end. And apparently more to come in the series. I can't wait. -- Clare Zinkin Minerva Reads ...mountains of silliness, bags of inventiveness and lots of charm! -- Caroline Horn Reading Zone A brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects. Financial Times A laugh-out-loud series for fans of cows disguised as dragons. Parents beware, young readers will revel in recreating the Evil Emperor's scary striding music! Little London Magazine Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates The Guardian ...this slapstick tale is sure to appeal to those who love something a bit silly. The first book in an uproarious new series for confident young readers. -- Anna McKerrow Booktrust Two words - such fun! Miranda Hart Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books. David Walliams Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates The Guardian There are no libraries or books in King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor, written and drawn by Bunny Suicides author Andy Riley (Hachette), but this funny story does feature many other things that will appeal, especially to early and reluctant readers - not least an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates. -- Michelle Pauli The Guardian : Saturday Review The book is funny and fast paced. It's a dream to read alone or to share with children ... Brilliant for 7-12 year olds. Particularly recommended for boys and reluctant readers. Making Them Readers ...a brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects. -- James Lovegrove Financial Times With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches. -- Carrie Morris The Best New Children's Books Guide An insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning writer and cartoonist, Andy Riley Aldershot News & Mail

Product Details

Author
Andy Riley
Publisher
Hachette Children's Group
Year
2016
ISBN-10
1444929593
ISBN-13
9781444929591
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2016-07-14
Series
King Flashypants
Pages
224
Media
Book
Audience Age
6
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Subtitle
Book 1
Language
English
Audience
Children/Juvenile