Dark Shores by Danielle L. Jensen, Hardcover, 9781250317728 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Dark Shores

Author: Danielle L. Jensen   Series: Dark Shores

Piracy, blackmail, and meddling gods meet in this thrilling first novel in this new, fast-paced YA fantasy series by Danielle L. Jensen

Read more
Product Unavailable

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

Piracy, blackmail, and meddling gods meet in this thrilling first novel in this new, fast-paced YA fantasy series by Danielle L. Jensen

Read more

Description

A PIRATE'S DAUGHTERTeriana is the daughter of a trading ship captain. Her people have the sea in their bones, their ships are guarded by demigods of the Sea Goddess, and they are the only ones who know how to traverse the never-ending ocean between the East and the West.A SOLDIER WITH A SECRETMarcus is the leader of the Thirty-Seventh legion, the notorious army that has led the Celendor Empire to conquer the entire East. The legion is the only family he has, and even they don't know the secret he's been hiding since childhood.A DANGEROUS QUESTWhen a tyrannical ruler gains power in Celendor, he kidnaps Teriana's mother and threatens to reveal Marcus's deepest secret unless the two of them help him conquer the unknown West. The unwilling pair, distrustful of each other's motivations, join together for the sake of their families, and must decide how far they are willing to go, and how much of themselves they are willing to sacrifice.

Read more

Critic Reviews

“"Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down--I was hooked from the first lines! Dark Shores has everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word."--Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author "The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series."-- Kirkus Reviews (starred) "This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don't, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski's sighworthy The Winner's Kiss and the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "The plot's twists and turns and fantastical elements add to the allure of this thrilling story. VERDICT Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King , Alexandra Christo's To Kill a Kingdom , or Natalie C. Parker's Seafire . Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series." -- School Library Journal”

"Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down--I was hooked from the first lines! Dark Shores has everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word."--Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series."--Kirkus Reviews (starred)

"This epic first installment in a new series from Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy) features stunning worldbuilding, a vivid cast of secondary characters, and a steamy slow-burn romance between two exceedingly competent and compelling heroes. Dark Shores is not one to miss."--Booklist

"This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don't, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski's sighworthy The Winner's Kiss and the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"The plot's twists and turns and fantastical elements add to the allure of this thrilling story. VERDICT Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King, Alexandra Christo's To Kill a Kingdom, or Natalie C. Parker's Seafire. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series."
--School Library Journal

Read more

About the Author

Danielle L. Jensen was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. She graduated from the University of Calgary with a bachelor's degree in finance, then went back to school to complete an English literature degree at Mount Royal University. She is the USA Today bestselling author of The Malediction Trilogy: Stolen Songbird, Hidden Huntress, and Warrior Witch (Angry Robot).

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
St Martin's Press
Published
7th May 2019
Pages
368
ISBN
9781250317728

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Product Unavailable