COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Your Fathers, Where are They? and the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

by Dave Eggers

  • Paperback
    $19.31
ISBN: 9780241971321
ANNOTATION:
In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes.
SAVE
16%
RRP $22.99
$19.31
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 4 to 6 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $19.31
ISBN: 9780241971321
ANNOTATION:
In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes.

Annotation

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes.

Publisher Description

'Does it feel weird to be chained to a post?' In Building 52 at an abandoned military base miles from anywhere a NASA astronaut wakes to find he's been kidnapped. A man named Thomas says they know each other, but the astronaut doesn't remember him. Thomas insists he'll come to no harm - if he just answers a few questions. But when Thomas doesn't get the answers he's looking for he knows just what to do . . . What has driven Thomas to this desperate act? What is it he is trying to find or understand? And how will it end? 'Alert, quick-witted and dogma-averse. Eggers works hard to surprise, challenge and confound. A writer on the best kind of roll.' Daily Telegraph 'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America. Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola.' Guardian 'One of America's most creatively restless and socially reactive novelists.' Metro 'Eggers can write about pretty much anything and make it glitter and somersault on the page . . . dazzling and highly original.' Michiko Kakutani, New York Times 'Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation.' Independent

Back Cover

'Alert, quick-witted and dogma-averse. Eggers works hard to surprise, challenge and confound. A writer on the best kind of roll' Daily Telegraph 'Does it feel weird to be chained to a post?' In Building 52 at an abandoned military base miles from anywhere a NASA astronaut wakes to find he's been kidnapped. A man named Thomas says they know each other, but the astronaut doesn't remember him. Thomas insists he'll come to no harm - if he just answers a few questions. But when Thomas doesn't get the answers he's looking for he knows just what to do . . . What has driven Thomas to this desperate act? What is it he is trying to find or understand? And how will it end? 'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America. Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Guardian 'One of America's most creatively restless and socially reactive novelists' Metro 'Eggers can write about pretty much anything and make it glitter and somersault on the page . . . dazzling and highly original' Michiko Kakutani, New York Times 'Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation' Independent

Author Biography

Dave Eggers was born in Boston in 1970. He is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, The Unforbidden is Compulsory, How We Are Hungry, Short Short Stories, Teachers Have It Easy, Surviving Justice, What is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle and Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? A Hologram for the King and The Circle are both currently in production for major film adaptations. Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family and his next novel is forthcoming in 2016.

Review

Within 212 pages, Eggers displays a delicate, haunting, sometimes dire picture of the world. It may not be a comfortable read, but it's an interesting take on what we believe to be true and what we hope to be true. -- Mark Lopez Alibi.com Engaging . . . You know what Eggers wants to say, he says it quickly, and he says it with a respectably righteous fury. And, ultimately, he says it with a compassion that's always been present in his work . . . Fascinating. -- Mark Athitakis The Washington Post This short, provocative novel feels a bit like Jack Bauer stepping into Kierkegaard's collected works. . . ambitiously confronts a grand history of philosophical angst . . . Swift and smart. -- Zoe Ferraris San Francisco Chronicle Another startling leap into new territory . . . Here is a tale as tightly wound as an alarm clock. . . Eggers has always been as elastic writer, but in Your Fathers he puts his language to the ultimate test. -- John Freeman Toronto Star Fathers is a screaming, bleating cry for society to fix itself. It is a frothing, angry, mournful meditation on what is slipping away as America plows on into the 21st century... compelling -- Henry C. Jackson Chicago Daily Herald Unmistakably the work of a singular talent. . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now? -- Max Liu The Independent Dave Eggers never writes the same book twice, and his latest may be his most unusual to date . . . [A] fleet and forceful story by one of our finest fiction writers . . .stark exchanges, with little exposition ... propels the reader to the end. -- Georgia Rowe San Jose Mercury News A major talent. His voice - loud, sardonic, compassionate, and honest . . . Eggers has developed into a profoundly serious novelist and nonfiction writer with a social and political conscience. -- Alex Gilvarry The Boston Globe Eggers has a knack for potent images of frustration . . [He] has produced something timely -- Sam Worley Chicago Tribune An angry and astute investigation into the state of America ... Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola. -- Mark Lawson Guardian The faint echo of Plato's dialogues . . . Raising questions about the appropriate relationship between authority and compassion. Kirkus But with each tightly controlled book, Eggers' fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling... Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now? INDEPENDENT His latest novella, Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches his toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling EVENING STANDARD Eggers writes so well you would read a computer manual if it was by him, but beneath his beguiling style is a base note of genuine concern about those who find themselves out of kilter with society. HERALD One of the country's leading literary eminences Washington Post A one-sitting read . . . insightful USA Today Inherently interesting. I can think of few contemporary American writers who convey such a sense of urgency about the mess we're in. Eggers pulls no punches Milwaukee Journal Sentinel A jazz session - a brief, single helping of strangeness that flaunts his panache for stylistic experimentation. . . The writing is compelling and the characterization astute Booklist Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation Independent Eggers can write about pretty much anything and make it glitter and somersault on the page . . . dazzling and highly original -- Michiko Kakutani The New York Times One of our fiercest and most compelling writers Sunday Times

Prizes

Short-listed for International Dublin Literary Award 2016

Review Text

One of our fiercest and most compelling writers

Review Quote

One of our fiercest and most compelling writers

Product Details

Author
Dave Eggers
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year
2015
ISBN-10
0241971322
ISBN-13
9780241971321
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2015-05-07
Media
Book
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Pages
224
Language
English
Audience
General/Trade