Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Gambling Man

by David Baldacci

PUBLISHED: 30th March 2021 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781529061789
ANNOTATION:
The gripping second historical crime novel in David Baldaccis Aloysius Archer series, following the &i>Sunday Times &/i>top five bestseller &i>One Good Deed&/i>.
SAVE
23%
RRP $32.99
$25.40
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 2 to 4 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 30th March 2021 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781529061789
ANNOTATION:
The gripping second historical crime novel in David Baldaccis Aloysius Archer series, following the &i>Sunday Times &/i>top five bestseller &i>One Good Deed&/i>.

Annotation

The gripping second historical crime novel in David Baldaccis Aloysius Archer series, following the &i>Sunday Times &/i>top five bestseller &i>One Good Deed&/i>.

Publisher Description

Evoking the golden age of crime and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice

It is nearly 1950 and Aloysius Archer is on his way to Bay Town, California to take up a post with renowned gumshoe, Willie Dash. Making an overnight stop in Reno he gets lucky at the casino, meets a talented actor named Liberty Callahan with her sights set on Hollywood, and helps out a man threatened by mobsters for a bad debt. With a magnificent Delahaye motor as his repayment, Archer goes west with Liberty to seek work, fame and fortune. The journey is dangerous and full of surprises as Liberty shows her steel and reveals she has a past as dark as Archer’s.

A risk worth taking

In Bay Town, Willie Dash is tasked with finding out who is doing everything in their power to prevent his client, politician Douglas Kemper, from being mayor. As Archer and Dash dig deeper, they discover a town full of secrets and strange events. When two seemingly unrelated murders occur at Midnight Moods, a local burlesque club owned by local scion, Sawyer Armstrong, Archer and Dash must dig deep to find a connection between the killings.

All bets are off

To prove himself in his first case as a PI, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies, the good from the evil and the relevance of the mysterious happenings offshore he saw during a late night boat ride in the Pacific. While Liberty, in a final perilous showdown, shows that she’s a true star in the making.

Author Biography

David Baldacci is one of the world's bestselling and favourite thriller writers. With over 150 million copies in print, his books, including Memory Man, Long Road to Mercy and One Good Deed, are published in over eighty territories and forty-five languages, and have been adapted for both feature-film and television.

Product Details

Author
David Baldacci
Publisher
Pan Macmillan
Language
English
Year
2021
ISBN-10
1529061784
ISBN-13
9781529061789
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2021-03-30
Pages
448
Series
Aloysius Archer
Audience
General/Trade
UK Release Date
2021-04-15