Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

Dorothea Lange


PUBLISHED: 28th February 2008
ISBN: 9780393330908
ANNOTATION:
Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—this volume evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps.
Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment
Product Unavailable
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 28th February 2008
ISBN: 9780393330908
ANNOTATION:
Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—this volume evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps.

Annotation

Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—this volume evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps.

Publisher Description

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2006.

Author Biography

Linda Gordon is the Florence Kelley Professor of History at New York University. She is the author of numerous books including Dorothea Lange and Impounded, and won the Bancroft Prize for The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction. She lives in New York. Gary Y. Okihiro is the author of Whispered Silences: Japanese Americans and World War II and Common Ground: Reimagining American History. He is a professor at Columbia University and lives in New York City.

Review

"In these days of fear of the terrorist 'other', reading this measured, intelligent introduction to a time that is all-too possible to imagine recurring, and looking at Lange's photos... may be one of the most useful things one can do this Christmas." -- The Sunday Times [London] "[The] images show Americans of Japanese extraction being relocated to 'assembly centers', labeled and processed like cattle and closeted away in dismal shacks for the duration of the war... No wonder her pictures were never used and disappeared for half a century." -- The Independent [UK] "Through her discerning and sensitive eye, Lange's observations of the situation were too real and too critical for the government, and were consequently confiscated." -- Amateur Photographer "[T]he bulk of the book is given over to Lange's photographs. Several of these are as powerful as her most stirring work, and the final image-of a grandfather in the desolate Manzanar Center looking down in anguish at the grandson between his knees-is worth the price of the book alone." -- Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Author
Dorothea Lange
Short Title
IMPOUNDED
Pages
205
Publisher
W. W. Norton & Company
Language
English
ISBN-10
0393330907
ISBN-13
9780393330908
Media
Book
Format
Paperback
Illustrations
Yes
Year
2008
Publication Date
2008-02-28
Subtitle
Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment
Country of Publication
United States
Edited by
Gary Y. Okihiro, Linda Gordon
Audience
General/Trade
Edition
1st