Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

The Second Life Of Ava Rivers

Faith Gardner


PUBLISHED: 16th August 2018
ISBN: 9780451478306
ANNOTATION:
An immersive, vignette-style novel about the sudden reappearance of a missing girl and the effect it has on her twin sister and their broken family. The Second Life of Ava Rivers is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith.
The Second Life Of Ava Rivers
$32.18
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 3 to 5 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 16th August 2018
ISBN: 9780451478306
ANNOTATION:
An immersive, vignette-style novel about the sudden reappearance of a missing girl and the effect it has on her twin sister and their broken family. The Second Life of Ava Rivers is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith.

Annotation

An immersive, vignette-style novel about the sudden reappearance of a missing girl and the effect it has on her twin sister and their broken family. The Second Life of Ava Rivers is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith.

Publisher Description

Ava's disappearance was the crack in the Rivers family glacier. I wish I could explain to you how we were before, but I can't, because the before is so filmy and shadowed with the after.

The after is all Vera remembers. When her twin sister, Ava, disappeared one Halloween night, her childhood became a blur of theories, tips, and leads, but never any answers. The case made headlines, shocked Vera's Northern California community, and turned her family into tragic celebrities.

Now, at eighteen, Vera is counting down the days until she starts her new life at college in Portland, Oregon, far away from the dark cloud she and family have lived under for twelve years. But all that changes when a girl shows up at the local hospital.

Her name is Ava Rivers and she wants to go home.

Ava's return begins to mend the fractures in the Rivers family. Vera and Ava's estranged older brother returns. Vera reconnects with Max, the sweet, artistic boy from her childhood. Their parents smile again. But the questions remain- Where was Ava all these years? And who is she now?

Author Biography

Faith Gardner is the author of the young adult novel Perdita. Her short fiction has been published in places like ZYZZYVA, PANK and McSweeney's online. She lives in the Bay Area. and follow her on twitter @iamfaithgardner.

Review

"This remarkable novel reproduces the personal and family trauma associated with the loss and recovery of a missing child . . . The Second Life of Ava Rivers is an enthralling tale." -VOYA, starred review "Gardner's unforgettable voice blends Jodi Picoult's emotional, ripped-from-the-headlines storytelling with Mindy McGinnis's unflinchingly honest protagonists. Gardner's gorgeous language and the atmospheric tone makes this a well-crafted, genre-defying story that deserves a wide readership." -Booklist, starred review

"Fans of The Face on the Milk Carton and Room will revel in this book's generous supply of suspense."-Publishers Weekly

"A deftly written examination of familial relationships, trauma, and post-adolescence."--Kirkus

"Missing kid books aren't rare, but Gardner brings a unique tenderness to this one; Vera is a deeply compelling narrator of this strange experience that no one, even her parents, can really understand the way she does...The book has its surprises, but it remains firmly focused on the human dynamics of creating family and individual identity in the face of tragedy."--BCCB, starred review

"A beautiful, moving, and thoughtful story about how far we're willing to go for family."

  • Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

"A poignant, haunting story about being lost and found, about secrets, sisters, grief, and the redemptive power of forgiveness--The Second Life of Ava Rivers will stay with you long after you've turned the last page."

  • Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

    "Raw, heartfelt, and ultimately redemptive. A captivating story about grief, trauma, and healing."

    • Kerry Kletter, acclaimed author of The First Time She Drowned.

Product Details

Author
Faith Gardner
Publisher
Razorbill
Year
2018
ISBN-10
0451478304
ISBN-13
9780451478306
Format
Hardcover
Country of Publication
United States
Audience Age
14
Pages
416
Media
Book
Publication Date
2018-08-16