COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

The Ice Dragon

by George R.R. Martin

PUBLISHED: 4th December 2014
ISBN: 9780008118853
ANNOTATION:
An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon.
SAVE
12%
RRP $19.99
$17.59
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 5 to 7 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 4th December 2014
ISBN: 9780008118853
ANNOTATION:
An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon.

Annotation

An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon.

Publisher Description

An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon.

From ancient times the ice dragon was a creature of legend and fear, for no man had ever tamed one. When it flew overhead, it left in its wake desolate cold and frozen land. But Adara was not afraid. For Adara was a winter child, born during the worst freeze that anyone, even the Old Ones, could remember.

Adara could not remember the first time she had seen the ice dragon. It seemed that it had always been in her life, glimpsed from afar as she played in the frigid snow long after the other children had fled the cold. In her fourth year she touched it, and in her fifth year she rode upon its broad, chilled back for the first time. Then, in her seventh year, on a calm summer day, fiery dragons from the North swooped down upon the peaceful farm that was Adara's home. And only a winter child-and the ice dragon who loved her-could save her world from utter destruction.

Author Biography

George R. R. Martin is the author of fourteen novels, including five volumes of A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, several collections of short stories and numerous screen plays for television drama and feature films. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Review

"The Ice Dragon brims with the magic and beauty of Martin's velvety rich prose. [...] Audiences of all ages will be enchanted by the fantastic delivery of this timeless tale of heroes and dragons, the strength of a family, and the coming-of-age of a very special girl. It is a great book to share." -VOYA

      "[T]his fantasy is a slim but rich introduction to the genre, one that should appeal to both boys and girls."

-School Library Journal

      "A must-buy for all Martin fans." -SFRevue

Long Description

An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon. From ancient times the ice dragon was a creature of legend and fear, for no man had ever tamed one. When it flew overhead, it left in its wake desolate cold and frozen land. But Adara was not afraid. For Adara was a winter child, born during the worst freeze that anyone, even the Old Ones, could remember. Adara could not remember the first time she had seen the ice dragon. It seemed that it had always been in her life, glimpsed from afar as she played in the frigid snow long after the other children had fled the cold. In her fourth year she touched it, and in her fifth year she rode upon its broad, chilled back for the first time. Then, in her seventh year, on a calm summer day, fiery dragons from the North swooped down upon the peaceful farm that was Adara's home. And only a winter child--and the ice dragon who loved her--could save her world from utter destruction.

Review Quote

"The Ice Dragon brims with the magic and beauty of Martin's velvety rich prose. [...] Audiences of all ages will be enchanted by the fantastic delivery of this timeless tale of heroes and dragons, the strength of a family, and the coming-of-age of a very special girl. It is a great book to share." --VOYA "[T]his fantasy is a slim but rich introduction to the genre, one that should appeal to both boys and girls."--School Library Journal "A must-buy for all Martin fans." --SFRevue

Feature

(Black and White illustrations throughout) George R.R. Martin is the worldwide bestselling author of A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE - the series HBO based their award-winning show on. Perfect for fans of GAME OF THRONES Gift edition hardback perfect for Christmas Black and white illustrations throughout A fairy tale of Westeros Perfect for younger audiences* Competition: a;little;hatred;stormlight;mistborn;kingkiller;name;of;the;wind. tolkien;joe;abercrombie; rothfuss;brandon;sanderson;scott;lynch;wilbur;smith;novik;iggulden;canavan;andrzej;sapkowski;pratchett;robert;jordan;terry;brooks;goodkind;aaronovitch;gaiman

Description for Sales People

An enchanting tale of courage and sacrifice for young readers and adults by the wildly popular George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that inspired HBO's Emmy Award-winning GAME OF THRONES. Lavish illustrations by acclaimed artist Luis Royo enrich this captivating and heartwarming story of a young girl and her dragon. From ancient times the ice dragon was a creature of legend and fear, for no man had ever tamed one. When it flew overhead, it left in its wake desolate cold and frozen land. But Adara was not afraid. For Adara was a winter child, born during the worst freeze that anyone, even the Old Ones, could remember. Adara could not remember the first time she had seen the ice dragon. It seemed that it had always been in her life, glimpsed from afar as she played in the frigid snow long after the other children had fled the cold. In her fourth year she touched it, and in her fifth year she rode upon its broad, chilled back for the first time. Then, in her seventh year, on a calm summer day, fiery dragons from the North swooped down upon the peaceful farm that was Adara's home. And only a winter child--and the ice dragon who loved her--could save her world from utter destruction. Platinum title George R.R. Martin is the worldwide bestselling author of A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE - the series HBO based their award-winning show on. Perfect for fans of GAME OF THRONES Gift edition hardback perfect for Christmas Black and white illustrations throughout A fairy tale of Westeros Perfect for younger audiences*

Product Details

Author
George R.R. Martin
Pages
128
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Year
2014
Illustrator
Luis Royo
ISBN-10
000811885X
ISBN-13
9780008118853
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Illustrations
(Black and White illustrations throughout)
Media
Book
Publication Date
2014-11-24
Audience Age
13
Language
English
Audience
Children/Juvenile