Departments
 Free Returns*

Connect

Author: Julian Gough   Series: My First Touch and Find

Paperback

A brilliantly and thrillingly smart novel of today and tomorrow, by one of the most original voices in Irish writing.

A brilliantly and thrillingly smart novel of today and tomorrow, by one of the most original voices in Irish writing.

Read more
SAVE
23%
RRP $29.99
$23.09
Or pay later with
Dispatches in 10-12 days from Sydney
Check delivery costs & estimated arrival date Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
Parcel {{ $index + 1 }}
!
{{ Shipment.messages[0] }}
Fastest delivery
Lowest cost
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
shipping
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
More delivery options may be available at checkout
 
 
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A brilliantly and thrillingly smart novel of today and tomorrow, by one of the most original voices in Irish writing.

A brilliantly and thrillingly smart novel of today and tomorrow, by one of the most original voices in Irish writing.

Read more

Description

Nevada; the near future; a family about to implode.

In a world run by computers, hackers have power - and awkward, home-schooled Colt is among the best. But when Colt secretly submits his mother Naomi's breakthrough research to a biotech conference, and it is immediately shut down, mother and son are forced to go on the run. Now Colt is coding for his life.

As the military, and Colt's father, hunt them through a Las Vegas of self-driving cars and surveillance drones, Naomi has to decide how far she will go to protect her child. Can she kill a man? Can she destroy the world?

And Colt is finally forced to leave the comfort of virtual reality, and face his greatest terror: love.

The world is evolving; humans need to evolve too . . .

For readers of William Gibson, Ready Player One, and Naomi Alderman's The Power, Connect is a page-turning novel of ideas that thrillingly explores what connection - both human and otherwise - might be in a digital age.

Read more

Critic Reviews

A mind-warping futuristic thriller wrapped in a smorgasbord of ideas . . . inventive and entertaining . . . Connect might just be the perfect combination of beach read and literary torchpaper. Sunday Business Post (Ireland) Connect has all the hallmarks of such futuristic classics as War Of The Worlds and Brave New World, but it is also a strong stand alone novel full of excitement, twists, and turns, and stands shoulder to shoulder with any thriller being published today. Galway Advertiser This is a novel of enormous danger and risk . . . It is in the lightness of the writing, the compelling force of the narrative that the author achieves real brilliance. Gough has undoubtedly arrived, as a master storyteller. -- Michael Harding A wonderful novel, a tour de force. -- Joseph O'Connor Connect really is a work of genius. It confronts and explores the nature of humanness and existence in a thrilling, immersive, addictive way, and marks Julian out as a prophet among writers. -- Donal Ryan Read Connect by the absurdly brilliant Julian Gough, a mind-expanding technothriller with a hotly beating human heart. -- Emma Donoghue An exciting literary thriller with plenty of interesting ideas. Mail on Sunday This stimulating tale of a coder and his mum is a hyper-digital thriller . . . a story of family dysfunction plugged into larger questions about reality, evolution and the west's self-definition as "the good guys". Observer I found Connect propulsively paced and ingeniously twisting. Gough has written a hyperactive, adrenaline-junkie dystopian thriller that deserves to be made into a belter of a film franchise. The Times Connect is so plugged into the technological zeitgeist . . . This is the world we know, several operating systems down the line . . . Instantly convincing . . . It will subtly change the way you see the world. Sunday Times A dazzling technothriller . . . propulsive and engrossing Guardian

Read more

About the Author

Julian Gough is the author of three comic novels and was formerly the lead singer of the underground literary band Toasted Heretic. He won the BBC National Short Story Award in 2007 and was shortlisted for the Everyman Bollinger Wodehouse Prize in 2008 and 2012. In 2011 he wrote the ending to Minecraft, Time magazine's computer game of the year.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Pan Macmillan | Picador
Published
25th January 2018
Pages
400
ISBN
9781509809844
SAVE
23%
RRP $29.99
$23.09
Or pay later with
Dispatches in 10-12 days from Sydney
Check delivery costs & estimated arrival date Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
Parcel {{ $index + 1 }}
!
{{ Shipment.messages[0] }}
Fastest delivery
Lowest cost
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
shipping
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
More delivery options may be available at checkout