This Golden State by Marit Weisenberg, Hardcover, 9781250786272 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

This Golden State

Author: Marit Weisenberg  

Hardcover

A propulsive, emotional novel following a family on the run, a restless teenage daughter hungry for the truth, and the simple DNA test that threatens their carefully crafted world

Seventeen-year-old Poppy takes a home DNA test and unravels her parents' identities and their decades of careful work to keep their family anonymous, allowing the past to come dangerously close to catching up to them.

Read more
Save
23%
RRP $35.00
$26.95
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Hardcover

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A propulsive, emotional novel following a family on the run, a restless teenage daughter hungry for the truth, and the simple DNA test that threatens their carefully crafted world

Seventeen-year-old Poppy takes a home DNA test and unravels her parents' identities and their decades of careful work to keep their family anonymous, allowing the past to come dangerously close to catching up to them.

Read more

Description

Marit Weisenberg's This Golden State follows a family on the run, a restless teenage daughter hungry for the truth, and the simple DNA test that threatens their carefully crafted worldThe Winslow family lives by five principles:1. No one can know your real name.2. Don't stay in one place too long.3. If you sense anything is wrong, go immediately to the meeting spot.4. Keeping our family together is everything.5. We wish we could tell you who we are, but we can't. Please-do not ask.Poppy doesn't know why her family has been running her whole life, but she does know that there are dire consequences if they're ever caught. Still, her curiosity grows each year, as does her desire for real friends and the chance to build on something, instead of leaving behind school projects, teams, and crushes at a moment's notice.When a move to California exposes a crack in her parents' airtight planning, Poppy realizes how fragile her world is. Determined to find out the truth, she mails in a home DNA test. Just as she starts to settle into her new life and even begins opening up to a boy in her math class, the forgotten test results bring her crashing back to reality.Unraveling the shocking truth of her parents' real identities, Poppy realizes that the DNA test has undone decades of careful work to keep her family anonymous-and the past is dangerously close to catching up to them. Determined to protect her family but desperate for more, Poppy must ask: How much of herself does she owe her family? And is it a betrayal to find her own place in the world?

Read more

Critic Reviews

“" This Golden State 's mashup of gorgeously drawn coming of age and utterly gripping mystery had me magnetized to the page. A propulsive tale full of crystalline insights, told with such delicate ferocity." -- Melissa Albert, author of The Hazel Wood Series " This Golden State is a luminous and gripping novel about family, identity, and what it means to love and to let go. I couldn't put it down." -- Jennifer Mathieu, author of Moxie " This Golden State is that rarest combination of a page-turning, gripping plot that will keep you enthralled for hours, and a soul-stirring, coming-of-age story that will set your heart aflame." -- Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King "Weisenberg creates page-turning suspense surrounding a criminal mystery full of family secrets as the reader follows Poppy on her journey of self-discovery as well as unearthing her family's past. This coming-of-age mystery is perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus who enjoy a ”

Named to YALSA's Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers List

"This Golden State's mashup of gorgeously drawn coming of age and utterly gripping mystery had me magnetized to the page. A propulsive tale full of crystalline insights, told with such delicate ferocity."
--Melissa Albert, author of The Hazel Wood

"This Golden State is a luminous and gripping novel about family, identity, and what it means to love and to let go. I couldn't put it down."
--Jennifer Mathieu, author of Moxie

"This Golden State is that rarest combination of a page-turning, gripping plot that will keep you enthralled for hours, and a soul-stirring, coming-of-age story that will set your heart aflame."
--Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

"Marit Weisenberg hits the ball out of the park in This Golden State. The book transforms as you read, revealing layers that include a twisting, high-wire crime thriller, a sensual teen romance and, most significantly, a story about finding your place in your family. A Rapunzel-esque tale about breaking free, finding out who you are and where you can go, This Golden State shines."
--BookPage

"Weisenberg creates page-turning suspense surrounding a criminal mystery full of family secrets as the reader follows Poppy on her journey of self-discovery as well as unearthing her family's past. This coming-of-age mystery is perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus who enjoy a -romantic subplot."
--School Library Journal

"Captivating."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Combines a pulse-pounding mystery with a moving portrayal of the conflict between a young woman yearning for independence and her close-knit family. . . . Marit Weisenberg creates a suspenseful and surprising mystery. She also portrays messy family relationships with compassion and nuance. . . . Readers looking for an uncommon take on the classic coming-of-age story will enjoy following Poppy on her journey."
--Shelf Awareness

"Weisenberg delivers a compelling coming-of-age novel that explores personal responsibility and what we do for love and for family loyalty. Fans of crime stories, romances, and psychological thrillers will be fully invested."
--The Horn Book

Read more

About the Author

Marit Weisenberg graduated from Bowdoin College and has a master's degree from UCLA in Cinema and Media Studies. She worked as a film and television executive for a number of years before turning to writing books. She currently lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband and two daughters. She is also the author of The Insomniacs, Select, and Select Few.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Flatiron Books
Published
1st March 2022
Pages
400
ISBN
9781250786272

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Save
23%
RRP $35.00
$26.95
Or pay later with
Check delivery options