Delivery update: Sydney Same Day delivery*
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Attacked at Sea: A True World War II Story of a Family's Fight for Survival

by Michael J. Tougias and Alison O'Leary

  • Hardcover
    $26.99
PUBLISHED: 27th October 2020
ISBN: 9781250128065
$26.99
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 8 to 10 days
From USA
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Hardcover
    $26.99
PUBLISHED: 27th October 2020
ISBN: 9781250128065

Publisher Description

On May 19, 1942, during WWII, a U-boat in the Gulf of Mexico stalked its prey fifty miles from New Orleans. The submarine set its sights on the freighter Heredia. Most onboard were merchant seamen, but there were also civilians, including the Downs family: Ray and Ina and their two children. Fast asleep in their berths, the Downs family had no idea that two torpedoes were heading their way. When the ship exploded, chaos ensued--and each family member had to find their own path to survival. This inspiring historical narrative tells the story of the Downs family as they struggle against sharks, hypothermia, drowning, and dehydration in their effort to survive the aftermath of this deadly attack off the American coast. For fans of Refugee and Unbroken. Christy Ottaviano Books

Author Biography

Michael J. Tougias is the author of many true rescue stories, including Into the Blizzard, A Storm Too Soon, and The Finest Hours. A frequent lecturer on his work, Tougias lives in Plymouth, Massachusetts. michaeltougias.comAlison O'Leary is an award-winning journalist based in New England. She is a former correspondent for the Boston Globe and the author of So Close to Home and Inns and Adventures. alisonoleary.com

Product Details

Author
Michael J. Tougias, Alison O'Leary
Short Title
Attacked at Sea
Pages
224
Audience Age
9-14
Publisher
Henry Holt & Company
Series
True Rescue
Language
English
Year
2020
ISBN-10
1250128064
ISBN-13
9781250128065
Format
Hardcover
Subtitle
A True World War II Story of a Family's Fight for Survival
Audience
Children/Juvenile
Publication Date
2020-10-27
Browse by category