Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

A Sceptic'S Search for Meaning

Mike Willesee


PUBLISHED: 29th October 2019 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781760556754
ANNOTATION:
Mike Willesee's spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle.
A Sceptic'S Search for Meaning
SAVE
26%
RRP $34.99
$25.90
Or pay later with
Ready to ship
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 29th October 2019 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781760556754
ANNOTATION:
Mike Willesee's spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle.

Annotation

Mike Willesee's spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle.

Publisher Description

'Willesee has always been a news-hound in pursuit of a story.' Sydney Morning Herald

Perfect for fans of Proof of Heaven, this part memoir, part investigation is a spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle.

Is there life after death? Does God exist? How do you explain miracles?

In a career spanning fifty years and thousands of stories, legendary Australian journalist Mike Willesee dared to pose the big questions as part of his ongoing quest for meaning.

Born into the Catholic faith, with early ambitions to be a priest, he tried to escape his spiritual destiny by pursuing a path as an investigative journalist. But fate kept catching up, as A Sceptic's Search for Meaning reveals.

He had a premonition his plane was going to crash, moments before it did.

He found himself the neighbour of one of Australia's most passionate investigators of mystical phenomena, who convinced Mike to join him on his quest.

Among many such adventures, Mike flew to Bolivia to interview Katya Rivas, dubbed 'God's secretary'. He watched as the barely literate woman who claimed never to have read the Bible wrote page after page of perfect theology in multiple languages. He also sat by her bed as blood started to ooze from her brow, her hands and her feet - the telltale signs of stigmata.

Written in his final year as Mike fought a losing battle with cancer, A Sceptic's Search for Meaning is a moving and intriguing tale of one man's attempt to make sense of the profound mysteries of faith.

PRAISE FOR MEMOIRS

'A cracking tale of good fortune, ambition, risk-taking, self-belief and driving curiosity.' Daily Telegraph

Author Biography

Mike Willesee was born in Perth in 1942. He got his start as a journalist at Perth's Daily News before moving to the Melbourne Age in 1963. Mike joined Australia's first nightly prime-time current affairs show, This Day Tonight, before hosting the ABC's Four Corners. In between, he reported the Vietnam War from 1967 to 1971.

Mike created and presented A Current Affair for the Nine network (1971-73), then hosted The Mike Willesee Show and Willesee at 7 for Channels 10 and 7. In the '80s, he drew record ratings for his documentaries Quentin and The Hunting Party, while pioneering FM radio with the 2Day FM licence.

In 1988, Mike led a consortium to save the Sydney Swans, and then served as president until 1993. He then went on to make the documentary films The Last Warriors and Signs From God, the latter drawing 28 million viewers in the United States. In 2012, a decade after being inducted into the Logies Hall of Fame, Mike joined Channel 7's Sunday Night and reclaimed his place as Australia's pre-eminent interviewer.

Mike Willesee, the voice of Australian television for decades, was diagnosed with throat cancer in 2016. In 2017, he released his autobiography, Memoirs. He passed away in early 2019.

Product Details

Author
Mike Willesee
Publisher
Pan Macmillan Australia
Year
2019
ISBN-10
1760556750
ISBN-13
9781760556754
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2019-10-29
Country of Publication
Australia
Pages
288