COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

My Sister's Bones

by Nuala Ellwood

PUBLISHED: 9th February 2017
ISBN: 9780241977279
Product Unavailable
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 9th February 2017
ISBN: 9780241977279

Publisher Description

'COMPELLING AND INTRIGUING, RIGHT FROM THE VERY FIRST PAGE' Sharon Bolton, Sunday Times bestselling author of Like This, For Ever Kate Rafter is a high-flying war reporter. She's the strong one. The one who escaped their father. Her younger sister Sally didn't. Instead, she drinks. But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her very first night she is woken by a scream. At first Kate tells herself it's just a nightmare. But then terrifying things start to happen, things she can't explain... What secret is lurking in her mother's garden? And what if the real danger is where you least expect it? 'A stunning book. I was drawn in by Nuala Ellwood's hypnotic, haunting and elegant prose. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor 'Loved I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors? My Sister's Bones is guaranteed to be this year's most twisty and twisted read - you'll never see what's coming!' Ava Marsh, author of UNTOUCHABLE 'Gripping and beautifully written, My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story' Amanda Jennings, author of IN HER WAKE 'An accomplished and page-turning thriller. It twists and turns in so many directions it's impossible to guess where it's going next' - Nicholas Searle, author of THE GOOD LIAR %%%'This formidable debut thriller rivals THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN as a compulsive read' Observer 'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' Sharon Bolton THE PSYCHO-THRILLER REVIEWERS ARE CALLING 'SHOCKING' 'RIVETING' AND 'EXPLOSIVE' Kate Rafter is a high-flying war reporter. She's the strong one. The one who escaped Herne Bay and their father. Her sister Sally didn't. Instead, she drinks. But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her first night she is woken by a terrifying scream. What secret has Kate stumbled upon? And is she strong enough to uncover the truth . . . and make it out alive?
'***** Wow...creeps slowly up your spine, grips you round the throat and doesn't let you go! ' Amazon reviewer 'For lovers of The Girl on the Train ...a tense story with multiple twists and turns' Prima 'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller' Christobel Kent, author of The Loving Husband 'Twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen 'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time.' C. L. Taylor 'Nuala Ellwood has created a tale that is gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn. I loved it' Rowan Coleman 'An accomplished and page-turning thriller. It twists and turns in so many directions it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle, author of The Good Liar 'Loved I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors? My Sister's Bones is guaranteed to be this year's most twisty and twisted read - you'll never see what's coming!' Ava Marsh, author of Untouchable 'Ellwood's protagonist Kate is a female hero in the best sense, flawed but brave' Helen Callaghan, author of Dear Amy 'My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story' Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake 'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins, author of The Other Child 'This book is amazing - harrowing and compelling' Luana Lewis %%%'This formidable debut thriller rivals THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN as a compulsive read' Observer

Back Cover

If you can't trust your sister, then who can you trust? Kate Rafter has spent her life running from her past. But when her mother dies, she's forced to return to Herne Bay - a place her sister Sally never left. But something isn't right in the old family home. On her first night Kate is woken by terrifying screams. And then she sees a shadowy figure in the garden... Who is crying for help? What does it have to do with Kate's past? And why does no one - not even her sister - believe her?

Flap

Kate Rafter is a high-flying war reporter. She's the strong one. The one who escaped their father. Her younger sister Sally didn't. Instead, she drinks. But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return home. And on her first night she is woken by a terrifying scream. At first Kate tells herself it's just a nightmare. But then she hears it again. And this time she knows she's not imagining it. What secret is lurking in the old family home? And is she strong enough to uncover it...and make it out alive?

Author Biography

Nuala Ellwood moved to London in her twenties to pursue a career as a singer-songwriter, but ended up writing novels instead. She comes from a family of journalists, and they inspired her to get Arts Council funding to research and write a novel dealing with psychological trauma in the industry. My Sister's Bones is her debut thriller.%%%Nuala Ellwood moved to London in her twenties to pursue a career as a singer-songwriter, but ended up writing novels instead. Her father is a journalist, and his experiences of war inspired her to write a novel about a reporter suffering from psychological trauma. My Sister's Bones is her debut thriller.

Review

Gripping and beautifully written, My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story -- Amanda Jennings Full of really clever twists, this stylish thriller really grabs you Sunday Mirror Compelling ... Brimful of tension, twists and darkness, this one grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go Woman and Home 'For lovers of The Girl on the Train ...a tense story with multiple twists and turns' Prima 'Compelling and convincing' Guardian Well-written ... an elegant, punchy thriller with a dark heart Observer Thriller of the Month Memorable, jaw-dropping ... harrowing fiction that skilfully draws parallels between the effects of civil war and domestic violence Sunday Times A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page -- Tammy Cohen A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting! -- Lucy Atkins, author of The Other Child Ellwood's protagonist Kate is a female hero in the best sense, flawed but brave. Very quickly you are sucked into her fragile, damaged world, until you no longer know what is real or imaginary -- Helen Callaghan, author of DEAR AMY A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page -- Christobel Kent, author of The Loving Husband A stunning book. I was drawn in by Nuala Ellwood's hypnotic, haunting and elegant prose. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next -- Nicholas Searle 'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' -- Sharon Bolton 'RIVALS THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN (and beats it for style)' (The Guardian) The 'shocking' 'haunting' and 'riveting' thriller about the secrets even those closest to us keep, this book will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor and Erin Kelly. Penguin Books

Review Text

'RIVALS THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN (and beats it for style)' (The Guardian ) The 'shocking' 'haunting' and 'riveting' thriller about the secrets even those closest to us keep, this book will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor and Erin Kelly.

Review Quote

Gripping and beautifully written , My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story .

Promotional "Headline"

The one person you should trust is lying to you.

Product Details

Author
Nuala Ellwood
Pages
400
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year
2017
ISBN-10
0241977274
ISBN-13
9780241977279
Format
Hardcover
Publication Date
2017-02-09
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Media
Book
Subtitle
'Rivals The Girl on the Train as a compulsive read' Guardian
Language
English
Audience
General/Trade