Departments
 Free Returns

Sand Talk: How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World

Author: Tyson Yunkaporta  

  • Paperback
    $23.17
PUBLISHED: 3rd September 2019
ISBN: 9781925773996
ANNOTATION:
What happens when global systems are viewed from an Indigenous perspective? How does it affect the way we see history, money, power and learning? Could it change the world?
SAVE
30%
RRP $32.99
$23.17
Or pay later with
Ready to ship
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
Parcel {{ $index + 1 }}
!
{{ Shipment.messages[0] }}
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $23.17
PUBLISHED: 3rd September 2019
ISBN: 9781925773996
ANNOTATION:
What happens when global systems are viewed from an Indigenous perspective? How does it affect the way we see history, money, power and learning? Could it change the world?

Annotation

What happens when global systems are viewed from an Indigenous perspective? How does it affect the way we see history, money, power and learning? Could it change the world?

Author Biography

Tyson Yunkaporta is an academic, an arts critic, and a researcher who belongs to the Apalech Clan in far north Queensland. He carves traditional tools and weapons and also works as a senior lecturer in Indigenous Knowledges at Deakin University in Melbourne.

Description for Sales People

Asks how indigenous ways of thinking can be applied in everyday life - and how they can save the planet. For readers of Bruce Pascoe's Dark Emu (Magabala Books, 2015) and Bill Gammage's Biggest Estate on Earth (Allen & Unwin, Provides a template for living, and a framework for combatting the current global crisis. This title will benefit from a publicity campaign from FMcM.

Prizes

Short-listed for Non-fiction, Indie Book Awards 2020 (Australia)
Long-listed for Booktopia Favourite Australian Book 2020 (Australia)
Long-listed for Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year, Australian Book Industry Awards 2020 (Australia)
Long-listed for Small Publishers' Adult Book of the Year, Australian Book Industry Awards 2020 (Australia)

Promotional "Headline"

What happens when global systems are viewed from an Indigenous perspective? How does it affect the way we see history, money, power and learning? Could it change the world?

Publisher Description

This remarkable book is about everything from echidnas to evolution, cosmology to cooking, sex and science and spirits to Schr dinger's cat.

Tyson Yunkaporta looks at global systems from an Indigenous perspective. He asks how contemporary life diverges from the pattern of creation. How does this affect us? How can we do things differently?

Sand Talk provides a template for living. It's about how lines and symbols and shapes can help us make sense of the world. It's about how we learn and how we remember. It's about talking to everybody and listening carefully. It's about finding different ways to look at things.

Most of all it's about Indigenous thinking, and how it can save the world.

Review

'Sand Talk is an important book. Tyson Yunkaporta an important and original thinker and writer. The book unpacks for us something originally genius about Indigenous thought, which has for too long been dismissed as archaic folk knowledge from old oral cultures of interest only to academics and fetishists. This book shows how vital and alive and essential Indigenous ways of being and thinking are. Yunkaporta is so smart, funny, and accessible. Everyone needs to read this.' Tommy Orange, bestselling author of There There 'Thought-provoking.' New York Times 'Readable, digestible and quite frankly exciting.' Fifth Estate 'Clever, funny, thought provoking, sensible and generous all at the same time. A must read!' Sydney Morning Herald 'Asks the reader to emotionally connect to with not only the text, but connect to the author through the text.' Geelong Advertiser 'Tyson Yunkaporta's Sand Talk is an extraordinary reading experience. It's both philosophical and practical, and underpinned by a compassionate yet realistic humanity.' Readings 'A familiar Indigenous sense of humour and generosity of sharing knowledge makes this book enjoyable to read...Like Dark Emu, Yunkaporta's book will have people talking.' Books+Publishing (starred review) 'An exhilarating meditation on different ways of knowing and being. Sand Talk is playful, profound and fiercely original.' Billy Griffiths 'After two hundred years, Indigenous thinkers are claiming the right to interpret Aboriginal Australia. It is a revolutionary change: here, in this compelling book, are its first fruits.' Nicolas Rothwell 'Radical ideas, bursting with reason.' Tara June Winch 'It was certainty that drove a bulldozer through the oldest and deepest philosophic statement on earth at Burrup Peninsula. Sand Talk offers no certainties and Tyson Yunkaporta is not a bulldozer driver. This is a book of cultural and philosophic intrigue. Read it.' Bruce Pascoe 'An extraordinary invitation into the world of the Dreaming... Unheralded.' Melissa Lucashenko

Review Quote

'It was certainty that drove a bulldozer through the oldest and deepest philosophic statement on earth at Burrup Peninsula. Sand Talk offers no certainties and Tyson Yunkaporta is not a bulldozer driver. This is a book of cultural and philosophic intrigue. Read it.'

Product Details

Format
Paperback
Author
Tyson Yunkaporta

Product Reviews

26 Mar, 2021
By Duncan
09 Feb, 2021
I absolutely love this book. Incredibly thought provoking and wondrous.
By joanne