Starling House by Alix E. Harrow, Hardcover, 9781529061123 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Starling House

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick that is the perfect dark Gothic fairytale for winter!

Author: Alix E. Harrow  

Hardcover

Opal Gravely has spent her life obsessed with the mysterious Starling House - but when its reclusive heir offers her a job, she discovers there may be monsters lurking within. This is a sweeping, Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January.

Opal Gravely has spent her life obsessed with the mysterious Starling House – but when its reclusive heir offers her a job, she discovers there may be monsters lurking within. This is a sweeping, Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January.

Read more
$45.98
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Hardcover

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

Opal Gravely has spent her life obsessed with the mysterious Starling House - but when its reclusive heir offers her a job, she discovers there may be monsters lurking within. This is a sweeping, Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January.

Opal Gravely has spent her life obsessed with the mysterious Starling House – but when its reclusive heir offers her a job, she discovers there may be monsters lurking within. This is a sweeping, Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January.

Read more

Description

'Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent' - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas SixStep into Starling House - if you dare . . . Alix E. Harrow reimagines Beauty and the Beast in this gorgeously modern gothic fantasy, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and Naomi Novik.Nobody in Eden remembers when Starling House was built. But the town agrees it's best to let this ill-omened mansion - and its last lonely heir - go to hell. Stories of the house's bad luck, like good china, have been passed down the generations.Opal knows better than to mess with haunted houses, or brooding men. But when an opportunity to work there arises, the money might get her brother out of Eden. Starling House is uncanny and full of secrets - just like Arthur, its heir. It also feels strangely, dangerously, like something she's never had: a home. Yet Opal isn't the only one interested in the horrors and the wonders that lie buried beneath it.Sinister forces converge on Eden - and Opal realizes that if she wants a home, she'll have to fight for it. Even if it involves digging up her family's ugly past to achieve a better future. She'll have to go down, deep down beneath Starling House, to claw her way back to the light . . .This is a romantic and spellbinding Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow.'Starling House is Alix E. Harrow's greatest work yet' - Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn

Read more

Critic Reviews

This book has everything you could possibly want this fall . . . a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid and eerie setting—plus, characters willing to risk everything -- Reese Witherspoon, Reese’s Book Club October 2023 Pick
Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent, and Starling House, with its gentle reassurances of the homes we make and the love we deserve, is more than satisfying. It’s pure loveliness in book form -- Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six
Gorgeous, poignant, and honest—an unforgettable read -- Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter
The gaudy, dark seam between horror and romance. Starling House is Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet – if you can survive its slow belly-crawl into hell -- Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn
This is gothic fairy tale at its best and truest: dark and romantic, angry and hopeful . . . I loved it -- H.G. Parry, author of The Magician's Daughter
This book is as knife-edged and sharp as its protagonist, a rich and strange exploration of home and need and want . . . A smart, spectacular contemporary Gothic -- Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians
This is one you’re going to love -- Glamour Magazine
Tender and triumphant . . . Starling House will no doubt take its place alongside fiction’s most memorable haunted houses -- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Harrow’s mash-up of twisted fairy tales and Southern gothic fiction is a haunting story of longing, lies, and generational curses -- Library Journal, Starred Review
Alix E. Harrow is a fantasy author who just does not miss. This magical, heartfelt haunted house tale is no different -- Paste Magazine
Devastating, eerie and upbeat -- SFX
A spooky story about how hidden truths always come back to haunt you --  Kirkus, Starred Review

Read more

About the Author

Alix E. Harrow is an ex-historian with lots of opinions and excessive library fines, currently living in Kentucky with her husband and their semi-feral children. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. Her full-length novels include The Ten Thousand Doors of January, The Once and Future Witches and Starling House.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Pan Macmillan | Tor
Published
31st October 2023
Pages
320
ISBN
9781529061123

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$45.98
Or pay later with
Check delivery options