Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments

The Book Of Mistakes

Corinna Luyken


  • Hardcover
    $21.59
PUBLISHED: 15th May 2017
ISBN: 9780735227927
ANNOTATION:
"As an artist creatively incorporates her slipups into a drawing, readers see the ways in which 'mistakes' can provide inspiration and opportunity, and reveal that both the art and artist are works-in-progress"--
The Book Of Mistakes
SAVE
28%
RRP $29.99
$21.59
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 2 to 4 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Hardcover
    $21.59
PUBLISHED: 15th May 2017
ISBN: 9780735227927
ANNOTATION:
"As an artist creatively incorporates her slipups into a drawing, readers see the ways in which 'mistakes' can provide inspiration and opportunity, and reveal that both the art and artist are works-in-progress"--

Annotation

"As an artist creatively incorporates her slipups into a drawing, readers see the ways in which 'mistakes' can provide inspiration and opportunity, and reveal that both the art and artist are works-in-progress"--

Publisher Description

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird cat-cow-frog thing? Well, it made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges . . . they look as though they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas-and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

Author Biography

Corinna Luyken grew up in different cities along the West Coast, and after studying at Middlebury College, she settled in Washington State, where she draws inspiration from nature, her family, and the human form. She got the idea for The Book of Mistakes by doing art activities with children in schools. This is her debut book.

Review

"At once philosophical and imbued with adventurousness, this picture book lifts to the level of the sublime the idea of putting one's slip-ups in perspective."--The Wall Street Journal * "This will lead kids to see their own so-called mistakes in a new, more positive light."--Booklist, starred review

  • "The idea of setbacks being opportunities in disguise is no stranger to picture book pages, but rarely has it been illuminated with such style, imagination, and compassion."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

  • "A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process...all rendered in a style and palette somewhat reminiscent of Erin E. Stead's work but distinctive in its own right"--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Mistakes in art--as in life--happen, and Luyken shows young readers in a glorious way how they often lead to bigger and better outcomes than anyone could imagine."--BookPage

"I will read this book to every group of students I teach for the rest of my career. ...This book is absolutely magical."--Colby Sharp, Nerdy Book Club

"This beautiful book, which celebrates the imaginative, playful spirit of an artist letting mistakes guide her work, is more than just an embracing of the artistic process, both messy and lovely. It's also quite the odyssey, one that takes readers on unexpected paths, opening minds and perspectives."--Seven Impossible Things

Product Details

Author
Corinna Luyken
Publisher
Penguin Putnam Inc
Year
2017
Illustrator
Corinna Luyken
ISBN-10
0735227926
ISBN-13
9780735227927
Format
Hardcover
Country of Publication
United States
Pages
56
Illustrations
Illustrations, unspecified
Audience Age
4-8
Publication Date
2017-05-15