Leech by Hiron Ennes, Paperback, 9781529073621 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Leech

Creepy, Unputdownable Gothic Horror

Author: Hiron Ennes  

Paperback

In the baron's icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, a parasite is spreading . . .

In the baron’s icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, a parasite is spreading . . .

Read more
RRP $22.99
$22.77
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

In the baron's icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, a parasite is spreading . . .

In the baron’s icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, a parasite is spreading . . .

Read more

Description

'Unique and utterly assured, I will follow this writer anywhere' - Gillian Flynn, author of Gone GirlIn the baron's icebound castle, a parasite is spreading . . . From Hiron Ennes, Leech is an atmospheric Gothic triumph, perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.In an isolated chateau, as far north as north goes, the baron's doctor has died. The Interprovincial Medical Institute sends out a replacement. But when the new physician investigates the cause of death, which appears to be suicide, there's a mystery to solve. It seems the good doctor was hosting a parasite. Yet this should have been impossible, as the physician was already possessed - by the Institute.The Institute is here to help humanity, to cure and to cut, to cradle and protect the species from the horrors their ancestors unleashed. For hundreds of years, it has taken root in young minds and shaped them into doctors, replacing every human practitioner of medicine. But now there's competition. For in the baron's icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, the parasite is spreading . . .These two enemies will make war within the battlefield of the body. Whichever wins, will humanity lose again?'A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!' - Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the NinthFeatured in The Times Best Sci-Fi Books 2022

Read more

Critic Reviews

So much more than the horror story it may sound like. This is The Thing meets The Alienist, and to call it merely horror is a disservice . . . So unique and utterly assured, I will follow this writer anywhere going forward. -- Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl
A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms! -- Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth
Leech isnt like anything Ive read before. Superb writing, interesting and fresh ideas, skilful execution. Highly recommended. I’ll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on -- Tade Thompson, author of Rosewater
What a unique book! Surprising turns and staggering ideas – all woven together by beautiful writing. This is one to remember -- Tim Lebbon, author of The Silence
I didn’t know a book could perfectly convey the concept of a distributed intelligence, alive and aware of each of its proxies, but Leech is proof anything is possible in good hands -- Cassandra Khaw, author of Nothing But Blackened Teeth
If you’ve ever wondered what would happen if David Cronenberg and Edgar Allen Poe bumped into each other at the same parasitological conference, here’s your answer -- Peter Watts, author of Blindsight
Ennes spins classic Gothic horror and fascinating science fiction into a creation that is disturbing, horrifying, and impossible to turn away from -- Brom, author of the Sandman Slim series
Leech is wonderful, with a truly unique protagonist, a goeey, squicky post-apocalyptic setting, and a dose of Gormenghast gothic. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and The Traitor -- Django Wexler, author of The Shadow Campaigns series
A tense, disturbing work of Gothic horror that embraces difficult themes of power, abuse, agency and raw survival in an unforgettably apocalyptic setting. Gory, shocking, raw – and utterly humane -- Kameron Hurley, author of The Light Brigade
Hiron Ennes's debut is an intricate, well-observed marooned-community thriller -- The Times
Uniquely compelling -- Financial Times

Read more

About the Author

Hiron Ennes is a writer, musician and student of medicine based in the Pacific Northwest. Their areas of interest include infectious disease, pathology and anti-capitalist healthcare reform. When they're not hunched over a microscope or Word document they can be found playing in the snow or playing the harp (though usually not at the same time). They're queer in every sense of the word, and they really want to pet your dog. Leech is their first novel.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Pan Macmillan | Tor
Published
14th September 2023
Pages
336
ISBN
9781529073621

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

RRP $22.99
$22.77
Or pay later with
Check delivery options