Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments

See You in the Cosmos

Jack Cheng


  • Paperback
    $12.58
PUBLISHED: 27th February 2017
ISBN: 9780141365602
See You in the Cosmos
SAVE
26%
RRP $17.00
$12.58
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 4 to 6 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $12.58
PUBLISHED: 27th February 2017
ISBN: 9780141365602

Publisher Description

An astonishingly moving middle-grade debut about a space-obsessed boy's quest for family and home.

All eleven-year old Alex wants is to launch his iPod into space. With a series of audio recordings, he will show other lifeforms out in the cosmos what life on Earth, his Earth, is really like. But for a boy with a long-dead dad, a troubled mum, and a mostly-not-around brother, Alex struggles with the big questions. Where do I come from? Who's out there? And, above all, How can I be brave? Determined to find the answers, Alex sets out on a remarkable road trip that will turn his whole world upside down . . . For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng's debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time. %%%'I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder' Jennifer Niven An astonishingly moving middle-grade debut about a space-obsessed boy's quest for family and home. All eleven-year old Alex wants is to launch his iPod into space. With a series of audio recordings, he will show other lifeforms out in the cosmos what life on Earth, his Earth, is really like. But for a boy with a long-dead dad, a troubled mum, and a mostly-not-around brother, Alex struggles with the big questions. Where do I come from? Who's out there? And, above all, How can I be brave? Determined to find the answers, Alex sets out on a remarkable road trip that will turn his whole world upside down . . . For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng's debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.

Author Biography

Jack Cheng was born in Shanghai and grew up in Michigan. After spending nearly a decade in New York, working in advertising and tech, he now lives in Detroit. See you in the Cosmos is his first novel for young readers. Follow him on Twitter @JackCheng and visit his website Jackcheng.com

Review

A poignant debut Event Magazine A heart-warming story about a space-obsessed boy's quest for answers Angels & Urchins This is an original and highly compelling read; heart-breaking on occasions, but ultimately uplifting Teach Secondary Featured in 'Best Books for Children's and Teens 2017 Independent Online Poignant and funny . . . propulsive . . . Alex's strong voice drives this compelling personal journey with resonant themes of family, friendship and resilience Publishers Weekly (starred review) It's not always that we read a novel that so powerfully affirms our human capacity for grace and love and understanding -- Gary D Schmidt, author of National Award finalist Okay for Now Alex Petroski has a big mind, big dreams, and a big heart. His story is full of the real kind of magic - friends well-met, surprising journeys, and heartbreak and hope. This is a beautiful book -- Ally Condie, New York Times bestselling author of Matched I love this book - the characters , the story, but most of all, the voice . . . It's a story a story that changes the way you see the world -- Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting By 7's Cheng has captured a view of the cosmos through a child's eyes, and that is the book's real pleasure' Daily Telegraph 4.5 STARS Sun A touching debut, with a clever narrative device and a deeply affecting hero Daily Mail Moving and hopeful . . . an unmissable adventure. One to watch. -- The Bookseller Falling in love with a new book: the very beautiful See You in the Cosmos . . . this is something special -- Emily Drabble, BookTrust I am a sucker for road trip novels and this is one of the best and sweetest I've read in ages. Alex is an unforgettably lovely narrator, and his story is out of this world. -- Robin Stevens, author of the bestselling Murder Most Unladylike series I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder . . . The very best books are rare and powerful magic, as if they were conjured by the stars. See You in the Cosmos is one of these. Hero Alex Petroski is eleven years old, in search of himself and the universe. His extraordinary journey is relatable and timeless, and I wanted to stay forever in this funny, wise, beautiful world. -- Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe The narration is a delight, swerving from space jokes and naivety to childlike wisdom Financial Times [A] poignant, memorable debut Guardian

Product Details

Author
Jack Cheng
Audience Age
9
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year
2017
ISBN-10
0141365609
ISBN-13
9780141365602
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Media
Book
Publication Date
2017-02-27
Pages
320