Kushiel's Chosen by Jacqueline Carey, Paperback, 9781035007622 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Kushiel's Chosen

a Fantasy Romance Full of Intrigue and Betrayal

Author: Jacqueline Carey   Series: Kushiel's Legacy

Paperback

The second book in the Kushiel's Legacy trilogy, Kushiel's Chosen is a sensuous fantasy of intrigue, sacrifice and conspiracy, as a courtesan spy navigates tumultuous courtly politics and a deadly threat to the crown.

The second book in the Kushiel’s Legacy trilogy, Kushiel’s Chosen is a sensuous fantasy of intrigue, sacrifice and conspiracy, as a courtesan spy navigates tumultuous courtly politics and a deadly threat to the crown.

Read more
$31.57
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

The second book in the Kushiel's Legacy trilogy, Kushiel's Chosen is a sensuous fantasy of intrigue, sacrifice and conspiracy, as a courtesan spy navigates tumultuous courtly politics and a deadly threat to the crown.

The second book in the Kushiel’s Legacy trilogy, Kushiel’s Chosen is a sensuous fantasy of intrigue, sacrifice and conspiracy, as a courtesan spy navigates tumultuous courtly politics and a deadly threat to the crown.

Read more

Description

Kushiel's Chosen by Jacqueline Carey is a sweeping fantasy of romance, luxuriance and intrigue - perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout.Phèdre has been trained as a skilled spy, courtesan and strategist under her tutor's watchful eye. He was the first to see she'd been touched by the god Kushiel's dart, chosen to forever experience pain and pleasure as one. And above all, Phèdre was taught to observe, remember and analyse - skills that may yet save her life.Once before, Phèdre gave up everything she held dear to save her homeland, but the gods still cast a shadow over her. For while their young queen is well-loved by her people, there are some who believe other heads should wear the crown. It seems factions who previously escaped the wrath of the mighty are not yet done with schemes for power and revenge.To protect and serve, Phèdre must once again leave her beloved homeland. She will meet old friends and new enemies . . . and uncover an earth-shattering plot masterminded by the one person she cannot deny.Start the journey with Kushiel's Dart, and finish with Kushiel's Avatar.

Read more

Critic Reviews

A cult classic deserving of its devotees. Rich, intricate worldbuilding meets swoonworthy romance. A tangled web of politics and desire, the Kushiel’s Legacy trilogy is a modern classic. Phédre and Joscelin’s story is the beating heart of every romantasy to follow -- Olivie Blake, bestselling author of The Atlas Six
Kushiel’s Chosen is elegant, intricate, sensual, and captivating. Once you pick it up you won’t want to put it down -- Robert Jordan, author of The Wheel of Time series
Jacqueline Carey has a flair for creating Machiavellian plots . . . From the first page I shivered with anticipation, with delight, with awe that a new author could best her breathtaking debut novel. Ms Carey’s alternate Renaissance period is perfection -- Romantic Times
Set in a richly detailed Renaissance-like world, this sequel to Kushiel’s Dart boasts a wealth of stunning visual images and vivid, complex characters. Carey’s sensual, often erotically charged prose, reminiscent of the best efforts of Tanith Lee and Anne Rice, adds an unmistakably sexual tension to an already tautly plotted tale of conspiracy, intrigue, passion, and, ultimately, love -- Library Journal
Carey’s second extravagantly sensuous novel fulfils every promise made by Kushiel’s Dart . . . There is seemingly something for everyone here: a great love story, intense spirituality, high eroticism, and lots of adventure, intrigue and swordplay -- Booklist starred review

Read more

About the Author

Jacqueline Carey was born in 1964. After receiving BA degrees in psychology and English literature, she embarked on a writing career and published various short stories. Kushiel's Dart was her first novel, and the final book in this trilogy is Kushiel's Avatar.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Pan Macmillan | Tor
Published
8th June 2023
Pages
736
ISBN
9781035007622

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$31.57
Or pay later with
Check delivery options