COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Life On The Ground Floor

by James Maskalyk

  • Paperback
    $26.61
PUBLISHED: 30th August 2018
ISBN: 9780385665988
SAVE
24%
RRP $35.00
$26.61
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 3 to 5 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $26.61
PUBLISHED: 30th August 2018
ISBN: 9780385665988

Publisher Description

Deeply personal in its scope, doctor and activist James Maskalyk--author of the highly acclaimed Six Months in Sudan--draws upon his experience treating patients in the world's emergency rooms. From Toronto to Addis Ababa, Cambodia to Bolivia, he discovers that although the cultures, resources and medical challenges of each hospital may differ, they are linked indelibly by the ground floor- the location of their emergency rooms. Here, on the ground floor, is where Dr. Maskalyk witnesses the story of "human aliveness"--our mourning and laughter, tragedies and hopes, the frailty of being and the resilience of the human spirit. And it's here too that he is swept into the story, confronting his fears and doubts and questioning what it is to be a doctor.

Author Biography

JAMES MASKALYK is an emergency-room physician, award-winning teacher and member of Medecins Sans Fronti res. He is the author of the highly acclaimed Six Months in Sudan, and currently divides his time between Toronto and Addis Ababa. The author lives in Toronto, ON.

Review

National Bestseller Winner of the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction Shortlisted for the 2018 RBC Taylor Prize Shortlisted for the 2018 Trillium Book Award Shortlisted for the 2018 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction Longlisted for the 2018 B.C. National Award for Canadian Nonfiction Finalist for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards Canada Reads 2019 Longlist A Globe and Mail Best Book of 2017 A National Post Best Book of 2017 A CBC Best Book of 2017 A Chatelaine Best Book of 2017

"The problem with memoirs, especially when they are written by Western doctors heading off to Africa for work, is they can be self-indulgent and messianic in tone. Dr. James Maskalyk deftly avoids that trap in his highly acclaimed first book, Six Months in Sudan . . . [and] he's done so again in his new memoir, Life on the Ground Floor. . . . [His] idealism and passion are obvious . . . but the strength of the book is that it captures the viscera, real and symbolic, of the ER--its sights, sounds, smells, pulse--without romanticizing the work. . . . Ultimately, that's what the book is about--making connections, across continents, culture and social classes, and clinging to the joyful moments that can be found amid the horror." --The Globe and Mail "A master of the medical memoir . . . Dr. James Maskalyk has a remarkable talent for description and detail. . . . [He] is entrancingly interesting . . . and his talent is offering serial nuggets of insight into things we rarely consider. . . . What makes Maskalyk so readable? He is a noticer of small things, a person on whom nothing is lost." --Toronto Star

"Maskalyk delivers a vivid and compelling sense of the emotional urgency in the ER--which is the same no matter the continent--for patients, the people who love them and the people who are trying to keep them alive." --Chatelaine

"With his moving and penetrating account of his experiences as an emergency room doctor in hospitals from Toronto to Ethiopia, Maskalyk joined a centuries-old tradition of doctors who write well." --Maclean's

"A raw, authentic and deeply humanitarian memoir of life as an emergency physician, written with eloquence and wisdom." --Gavin Francis, author of Adventures in Human Being: A Grand Tour from the Cranium to the Calcaneum

"Another beautiful, tender and moving portrait of humanity from one of Canada's finest new, non-fiction writers. Life on the Ground Floor perfectly captures the human spirit in all of its complexities, weaving a powerful narrative that is at once gripping, evocative and tinged with humour. In the tradition of Ryszard Kapuscinski, Katherine Boo and Wilfred Thesiger, Maskalyk has a rare sense of people and place, bringing readers along on an extraordinary journey." --Samantha Nutt, author of Damned Nations: Greed, Guns, Armies & Aid

"Maskalyk offers penetrating, honest and deeply personal insight into modern-day medical practice with all of its paradoxes, ambiguities and uncertainties. Life on the Ground Floor is yet another superb book from one of Canada's best writers, Maskalyk at his shining best." --James Orbinski, author of An Imperfect Offering: Humanitarian Action in the Twenty-First Century

Praise for Six Months in Sudan

  • "This journey is beautifully told in sharp beats and lyrical notes. It is the voyage of a young doctor in a hard world and deep within his own heart." --Dr. Vincent Lam, award-winning author of Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures
  • "Gripping and humane. . . . [A] brave and intelligent memoir." --Daily Mail (UK)
  • "Austere as the Sudanese landscape, plangent as a ballad, this book has poetry in it along with pain." --The Washington Post
  • "This is a rare memoir . . . with genuinely brilliant writing. I'm sure Maskalyk is a fine doctor, but he's an even better writer." --The Vancouver Sun

Review Quote

National Bestseller Winner of the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction Finalist for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards Longlisted for the 2018 B.C. National Award for Canadian Nonfiction A Globe and Mail Best Book of 2017 "The problem with memoirs, especially when they are written by Western doctors heading off to Africa for work, is they can be self-indulgent and messianic in tone. Dr. James Maskalyk deftly avoids that trap in his highly acclaimed first book, Six Months in Sudan . . . [and] he's done so again in his new memoir, Life on the Ground Floor . . . . [His] idealism and passion are obvious . . . but the strength of the book is that it captures the viscera, real and symbolic, of the ER--its sights, sounds, smells, pulse--without romanticizing the work. . . . Ultimately, that's what the book is about--making connections, across continents, culture and social classes, and clinging to the joyful moments that can be found amid the horror." -- The Globe and Mail "A master of the medical memoir . . . Dr. James Maskalyk has a remarkable talent for description and detail. . . . [He] is entrancingly interesting . . . and his talent is offering serial nuggets of insight into things we rarely consider. . . . What makes Maskalyk so readable? He is a noticer of small things, a person on whom nothing is lost." -- Toronto Star "Maskalyk delivers a vivid and compelling sense of the emotional urgency in the ER--which is the same no matter the continent--for patients, the people who love them and the people who are trying to keep them alive." -- Chatelaine "With his moving and penetrating account of his experiences as an emergency room doctor in hospitals from Toronto to Ethiopia, Maskalyk joined a centuries-old tradition of doctors who write well." -- Maclean's "A raw, authentic and deeply humanitarian memoir of life as an emergency physician, written with eloquence and wisdom." --Gavin Francis, author of Adventures in Human Being: A Grand Tour from the Cranium to the Calcaneum "Another beautiful, tender and moving portrait of humanity from one of Canada's finest new, non-fiction writers. Life on the Ground Floor perfectly captures the human spirit in all of its complexities, weaving a powerful narrative that is at once gripping, evocative and tinged with humour. In the tradition of Ryszard Kapuscinski, Katherine Boo and Wilfred Thesiger, Maskalyk has a rare sense of people and place, bringing readers along on an extraordinary journey." --Samantha Nutt, author of Damned Nations: Greed, Guns, Armies & Aid "Maskalyk offers penetrating, honest and deeply personal insight into modern-day medical practice with all of its paradoxes, ambiguities and uncertainties. Life on the Ground Floor is yet another superb book from one of Canada's best writers, Maskalyk at his shining best." --James Orbinski, author of An Imperfect Offering: Humanitarian Action in the Twenty-First Century Praise for Six Months in Sudan : "This journey is beautifully told in sharp beats and lyrical notes. It is the voyage of a young doctor in a hard world and deep within his own heart." --Dr. Vincent Lam, award-winning author of Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures "Gripping and humane. . . . [A] brave and intelligent memoir." --Daily Mail (UK) "Austere as the Sudanese landscape, plangent as a ballad, this book has poetry in it along with pain." --The Washington Post "This is a rare memoir . . . with genuinely brilliant writing. I'm sure Maskalyk is a fine doctor, but he's an even better writer." --The Vancouver Sun

Promotional "Headline"

Masterfully written and artfully structured, Life on the Ground Floor is a celebrated humanitarian doctor's unique perspective on sickness, health and what it is to be alive.

Excerpt from Book

G is for ground. I''ve been cutting down my shifts in the last few years so I can spend more time on Ethiopia. I work about ten a month now. It''s just enough to keep my skills up. Fewer, and my fingers fumble. When I graduated, I did twice as many. During those months, being in the ER was simpler than it has been since. My flow was natural, my hands steady, and my patients'' faces grew as indistinct as the date or time. It was the hours outside of work that started to hurt. It is easy to ignore your own worries when there is a never-ending list of worse ones placed in front of you. My rela

Description for Sales People

Maskalyk is a doctor, journalist and public speaker who has travelled the world training doctors and treating patients. Six Months in Sudan was a break-out success, embraced by a wide audience eager to hear his unique story. Maskalyk deftly and lyrically writes about medicine in a way few others can. He is a member of Medecins Sans Frontieres, known worldwide for its vital humanitarian work.

Product Details

Publisher
Random House Canada
Year
2018
ISBN-10
0385665989
ISBN-13
9780385665988
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
Canada
Subtitle
Letters from the Edge of Emergency Medicine
Pages
304
Media
Book
Author
James Maskalyk
Publication Date
2018-08-30
Language
English
Audience
General/Trade