The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey, Paperback, 9781529014198 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

The Animals at Lockwood Manor

Author: Jane Healey  

Paperback

Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable . . .

A ghostly, gothic love story that opens as the animals of the natural history museum are evacuated to a sinister country house during the war – perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Stacey Hall, and Jessie Burton.

Read more
Save
23%
RRP $21.99
$16.93
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable . . .

A ghostly, gothic love story that opens as the animals of the natural history museum are evacuated to a sinister country house during the war – perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Stacey Hall, and Jessie Burton.

Read more

Description

Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable . . .August 1939.Thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright is tasked with the evacuation and safekeeping of the natural history museum's collection of mammals. Once she and her exhibits arrive at Lockwood Manor, however, where they are to stay for the duration of the war, Hetty soon realizes that she's taken on more than she'd bargained for.Protecting her charges from the irascible Lord Lockwood and resentful servants is work enough, but when some of the animals go missing, and worse, Hetty begins to suspect someone - or something - is stalking her through the darkened corridors of the house.As the disasters mount, Hetty finds herself falling under the spell of Lucy, Lord Lockwood's beautiful but clearly haunted daughter. But why is Lucy so traumatized? Does she know something she's not telling? And is there any truth to local rumours of ghosts and curses?Part love story, part mystery, The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey is a gripping and atmospheric tale of family madness, long-buried secrets and hidden desires.

Read more

Critic Reviews

“An eerie puzzle box of a book . . . a deeply consuming read and a fantastic novel to get lost in”

Jane Healey’s excellent debut novel is a rich story full of tension and darkness. The star of the novel is the claustrophobic Manor itself, which casts a shadow over every page and hides a truly horrible secret. Atmospheric and disquieting, The Animals at Lockwood Manor is an ideal book club read -- A J Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird
-- Erika Swyler
Such a vivid, beautiful but haunting story, with a thread of darkness running through it . . . I was thoroughly engrossed -- Cressida McLaughlin
This story will keep you captivated Women's Weekly
Hypnotic . . . Will keep you emotionally invested to the end Woman & Home
Absorbing, atmospheric The Herald
In this modern gothic, animals disappear, chilling screams pierce the night, and tales of abuse and madness abound. An appropriately horrific conclusion is worthy of the genre's best storytellers Audiofile

Read more

About the Author

Jane Healey studied English Literature at Warwick University. She has been shortlisted for the Bristol Short Story Prize 2013, the Costa Short Story Award 2014, the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2016 and the Penguin Random House WriteNow mentoring programme 2017. The Animals at Lockwood Manor is her first novel. She lives in Edinburgh.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Pan Macmillan | Pan Books
Published
18th February 2021
Pages
352
ISBN
9781529014198

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Save
23%
RRP $21.99
$16.93
Or pay later with
Check delivery options