Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee, Paperback, 9781645673378 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Forest of Souls

Author: Lori M. Lee   Series: Shamanborn Series

Paperback

Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, the first in an epic fantasy duology for fans of Susan Dennard and Naomi Novak.

Read more
Save
23%
RRP $19.99
$15.39
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, the first in an epic fantasy duology for fans of Susan Dennard and Naomi Novak.

Read more

Description

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she's intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen's next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life.Unveiled as the first lightwender in living memory, Sirscha is summoned to the domain of the Spider King. For centuries, he has used his influence over the Dead Wood-an ancient forest possessed by souls-to enforce peace between the kingdoms. Now, with the trees growing wild and untamed, only a lightwender can restrain them. As war looms, Sirscha must master her newly awakened abilities before the trees shatter the brittle peace, or worse, claim Saengo, the friend she would die for.

Read more

Critic Reviews

“Praise for Forest of Souls , Book One in the Shamanborn Trilogy "Lee's writing and characterizations all but guarantee this one will have a rabid fanbase craving more." - Buzzfeed "Lee is a masterful world-builder, creating intriguing scenarios and a compelling cast of characters, anchored by the strong portrayals of female friendship. For fans of Natasha Ngan and Joan He, and for any high ”

Praise for Forest of Souls, Book One in the Shamanborn Trilogy

"Lee's writing and characterizations all but guarantee this one will have a rabid fanbase craving more." - Buzzfeed

"Lee is a masterful world-builder, creating intriguing scenarios and a compelling cast of characters, anchored by the strong portrayals of female friendship. For fans of Natasha Ngan and Joan He, and for any high -fantasy -collection." - School Library Journal

"Sirscha's path to discovery and acceptance is thoughtful and heartfelt... A refreshing fantasy for readers looking for more friendship and adventure, less romance." - Kirkus Reviews

"With a backdrop of political intrigue, deep magic, and hidden roots, Forest of Souls is a tantalizing beginning to a rich new fantasy series." --Traci Chee, New York Times best-selling author of The Reader trilogy

"With magic as luminous as it is terrifying, Lori M. Lee weaves a vibrant tapestry of sisterhood, self-discovery, and the long legacies of battles between good and evil. Absolutely enchanting." - Natalie C. Parker, author of Seafire

"Non-stop action, political intrigue, and dark magic are woven into this silky-yet-fast-paced daydream of a fantasy. Lori M. Lee casts the perfect web of unforgettable characters and an intriguing plot--you won't want to escape." - Sarah Henning, author of the Sea Witch & Sea Witch Rising

"Set in a vibrant new world that's as enchanting and ethereal as it is dangerous, Forest of Souls drew me in from the very first page and held me captive in its spell of magic, intrigue, and the bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Roshani Chokshi and will leave you shouting sisters unite!" - Mindee Arnett critically acclaimed author of Onyx & Ivory and Avalon

"A classic fantasy rooted in self-discovery, death-defying friendship, and political intrigue, Forest of Souls spins a tale as lush as its world. You can't help but want to see this dark journey through." - Linsey Miller, author of the Mask of Shadows duology and Belle R�volte

Read more

About the Author

Lori M. Lee is the author of Gates of Thread and Stone and The Infinite. She's also a contributor in the anthology A Thousand Beginnings and Endings (Greenwillow/Harper) featuring re-imaginings of East and South Asian mythology, folklore, and fairytales, and the forthcoming anthology Color Outside the Lines (Soho Teen, November 2019). Lori was born in the mountains of Laos but relocated to the United States when she was three. Now she lives in Wisconsin with her husband and kids while dreaming up magic and mayhem.

Read more

Back Cover

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she?s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen?s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo. And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life. Unveiled as the first soulguide in living memory, Sirscha is summoned to the domain of the Spider King. For centuries, he has used his influence over the Dead Wood?an ancient forest possessed by souls?to enforce peace between the kingdoms. Now, with the trees growing wild and untamed, only a soulguide can restrain them. As war looms, Sirscha must master her newly awakened abilities before the trees shatter the brittle peace, or worse, claim Saengo, the friend she would die for.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Page Street Publishing Co. | Page Street Kids
Published
18th May 2021
Pages
416
ISBN
9781645673378

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Save
23%
RRP $19.99
$15.39
Or pay later with
Check delivery options