The Buried and the Bound by Rochelle Hassan, Hardcover, 9781250822208 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

The Buried and the Bound

Author: Rochelle Hassan   Series: The Buried and the Bound Trilogy

Hardcover

A dark, alluring YA fantasy debut from Rochelle Hassan about monsters, magic, and wicked fae hiding deep in the woods.

Read more
Save
23%
RRP $32.99
$25.40
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Hardcover

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A dark, alluring YA fantasy debut from Rochelle Hassan about monsters, magic, and wicked fae hiding deep in the woods.

Read more

Description

As the only hedgewitch in Blackthorn, Massachusetts, Aziza El-Amin has bargained with wood nymphs, rescued palm-sized fairies from house cats, banished flesh-eating shadows from the local park. But when a dark entity awakens in the nearby forest, eroding fairyland's boundary, run-of-the-mill fae mischief turns into outright aggression, and the danger becomes too great for her to handle alone.She is forced to seek help from two unlikely allies: Leo, a boy who was cursed to forget his true love and isn't afraid to risk his life looking for answers; and Tristan, a mysterious young necromancer she's not certain she can trust.They'll have to work together to eradicate the new threat and take back their hometown... even if it forces them to uncover deeply buried secrets and make devastating sacrifices.

Read more

Critic Reviews

"With gorgeous prose and rich worldbuilding, this gripping dark fantasy slowly unfolds its tale of broken hearts, family secrets, and self-empowerment . . . . This is one for fans of Holly Black, Anna-Marie McLemore, and romantic fantasy that has a bittersweet bite. A wonderful start to a new trilogy." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The teens' journey to trusting each other is by turns heart-wrenching and hilarious, and the episodic nature of their quests will appeal to fans of supernatural shows like Sabrina or Wednesday. Although the main storyline is resolved, many questions remain unanswered, leaving readers desperate for the next installment." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Overflowing with whimsy, danger, and a touch of humor, this alluring tale maintains a satisfying air of menace and unpredictability." --Publishers Weekly

"A thrilling dark fantasy. . . Hassan expertly weaves these three titillating storylines, featuring chilling and thrilling faerie monsters and creatures, into a multilayered magical adventure about companionship, sacrifice, and survival." --Booklist

"As she brings a Lebanese immigrant family into the heart of a witches-in-New England tale, Hassan deftly highlights magic's global presence. Although Aziza's magical specialty is maintaining borders, her sprawling world of magic illustrates the rewards that await readers when fantasy reaches beyond white, Eurocentric inspirations and characters. Imaginative and urgently paced, The Buried and the Bound will be enjoyed by fans of Holly Black, S. Jae-Jones and Alix E. Harrow." --Bookpage

Read more

About the Author

Rochelle Hassan grew up reading about dragons, quests, and unlikely heroes; now she writes about them. She is the author of the middle-grade novel The Prince of Nowhere and a young adult fantasy novel The Buried and the Bound. She lives in New York. rochellehassan.com

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Roaring Brook Press
Published
15th May 2023
Pages
384
ISBN
9781250822208

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Save
23%
RRP $32.99
$25.40
Or pay later with
Check delivery options