COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Orphans of the Tide

Struan Murray


  • Paperback
    $14.70
ISBN: 9780241384435
Orphans of the Tide
$14.70
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 5 to 7 days
From Sydney
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $14.70
ISBN: 9780241384435

Publisher Description

The City - mankind's last refuge in a drowned world, where Whale Lords reign and the Inquisition keeps the peace.

The Enemy - a dark power, ever seeking to take possession of a human body and cause untold chaos.

The Inventor - a girl living in the heart of the City in a ramshackle workshop overflowing with curiosities.

When a whale washes up on the City roofs and a mysterious boy emerges from its belly, the superstitious citizens assume the Enemy has come again. Only Ellie - a fearless inventor striving to live up to her mother's legacy - believes the boy is innocent. Thrown together with the young fugitive, now on the run from the ruthless Inquisition, Ellie must discover who this boy really is - and what that means for her own terrible secret . . .

Author Biography

Struan Murray is Scottish and grew up in Edinburgh, the youngest of a large, rowdy family of redheads. He has a PhD in genetics and is now a lecturer in biochemistry at the University of Oxford. He won the 2018 Bath Children's Novel Award with this novel.

Review

An imaginative journey to a stunning fantasy world, full of twists and heart . . . an absolute corker . . . filled with swashbuckling adventure . . . an enthralling fantasy that moves through dark and grisly scenes of grave peril to positively touching moments of profound friendship. An incredibly imaginative narrative that fills its reader with wonder and thrills while also not being afraid to share quieter moments of real heart. The Daily Express Outstanding and immersive . . . I devoured this in one go book blogger Lily SugarPlum Faery Absolutely cracking! Great characters, with quite the nastiest villain I've met in a long while. Fleur Hitchcock, author of The Boy Who Flew This is a terrific debut of strange myths and dark secrets, fierce loyalties and ruthless villains, told against the thrilling backdrop of a half submerged city. The Bookseller - Editor's Choice The most original opening I've read in years and a plot twist that turns brilliantly Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song Orphans of the Tide is singularly brilliant. So inventive, and weird, and beautiful, with just the right amount of bite and darkness. I predict big things! Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars and The Mercies Struan Murray . . . effortlessly joins the ranks of the most skilled world-creators . . . Unpredictable, filled with plot twists and shades of moral grey, Orphans of the Tide is both gripping and original. -- Kitty Empire The Observer Energetic and inventive . . . and with some startling surprises, this is also touching about friendship, siblings, loss and courage -- Nicolette Jones The Sunday Times Unputdownable . . . Murray has an extraordinary imagination -- Alex O'Connell The Times Gripping . . . with a touch of Frances Hardinge's bizarre brilliance -- Imogen Russell Williams The Guardian A sumptuously atmospheric adventure . . . Murray is a tirelessly inventive storyteller -- Emily Bearn The Daily Telegraph

Review Text

A sumptuously atmospheric adventure . . . Murray is a tirelessly inventive storyteller

Promotional "Headline"

An extraordinary tale of myth, magic and the power of friendship, perfect for fans of Sky Song and Cogheart .

Product Details

Author
Struan Murray
Year
2020
ISBN-10
0241384435
ISBN-13
9780241384435
Audience Age
9-14
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Pages
352
Illustrator
Manuel Sumberac
Publication Date
2020-01-30
Language
English
Audience
Children/Juvenile
Publisher
Penguin Random House Children's Uk
Series
Orphans Of The Tide