COVID-19 update: Victoria update. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

This is Not the End of the Book

by Umberto Eco and Jean-Claude Carriere

  • Paperback
    $27.75
PUBLISHED: 1st May 2012
ISBN: 9780099552451
ANNOTATION:
'The book is like the spoon: once invented, it cannot be bettered' - Umberto Eco. These days it is impossible to get away from discussions of whether the book will survive the digital revolution.
$27.75
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 1 to 3 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $27.75
PUBLISHED: 1st May 2012
ISBN: 9780099552451
ANNOTATION:
'The book is like the spoon: once invented, it cannot be bettered' - Umberto Eco. These days it is impossible to get away from discussions of whether the book will survive the digital revolution.

Annotation

'The book is like the spoon: once invented, it cannot be bettered' - Umberto Eco.

These days it is impossible to get away from discussions of whether the book will survive the digital revolution.

Publisher Description

The book is like the spoon- once invented, it cannot be bettered' - Umberto Eco.These days it is impossible to get away from discussions of whether the book will survive the digital revolution. Blogs, tweets and newspaper articles on the subject appear daily, many of them repetitive, most of them admitting ignorance of the future. Amidst the twittering, the thoughts of Jean-Claude Carri re and Umberto Eco come as a breath of fresh air. This thought-provoking book takes the form of a conversation in which Carri re and Eco discuss everything from how to define the first book to what is happening to knowledge now that infinite amounts of information are available at the click of a mouse. En route there are delightful digressions into personal anecdote. We find out about Eco's first computer and the book Carri re is most sad to have sold. And while, as Carri re says, the one certain thing about the future is that it is unpredictable, it is clear from this conversation that, in some form or other, the book will survive.

Author Biography

Jean-Claude Carriere is a writer, playwright and screenwriter, who recently collaborated with Michael Haneke on his award-winning film The White Ribbon. He has worked with many of the twentieth century's great directors including Peter Brook, Milos Forman, Bunuel and Jean-Luc Godard, and is the author of Please Mr Einstein. Umberto Eco (1932-2016) wrote fiction, literary criticism and philosophy. His first novel, The Name of the Rose, was a major international bestseller. His other works include Foucault's Pendulum, The Island of the Day Before, Baudolino, The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana, The Prague Cemetery and Numero Zero along with many brilliant collections of essays. Jean-Philippe de Tonnac is a writer and editor. His interviews with Umberto Eco, Jean-Claude Carriere and Stephen Jay Gould were published in the book Conversations About the End of Time. He is also the editor of several collections of essays, not yet translated into English, which include A Universal Dictionary of Bread andAn Encyclopaedia of Knowledge and Belief.

Review

This book is a reminder that the satisfaction of working through even a relatively short book comes in part through confronting digressions, dead ends and distractions: the hallmark of conversation between friends, not of Internet speed-reading Wall Street Journal The dialogue between these two superbrains is freakishly compelling and covers everything from papyrus scrolls to e-readers... Never fails to be enlightening and engaging... Hooray for this brilliant book Dazed and Confused An entertainingly free-range dialogue about writing past, present and future -- Boyd Tonkin Independent Hurrah for philosopher and novelist Umberto Eco and playwright and screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere, who have come together to praise the medium... Fans of Eco and Carriere will be charmed -- Wayne Gooderham Time Out A storming book. The next best thing to sitting in Umberto Eco's living room after dinner; a dream collection of lucid and fascinating discussions -- Nick Harkaway

Product Details

Author
Umberto Eco, Jean-Claude Carriere
Year
2012
Translator
Polly McLean
ISBN-10
0099552450
ISBN-13
9780099552451
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Media
Book
Pages
352
Series
Vintage Books
Language
English
Publisher
Vintage Publishing
Translated from
Italian
Subtitle
A conversation curated by Jean-Philippe de Tonnac
Publication Date
2012-05-01
Short Title
This Is Not the End of the Book
Audience
General/Trade