COVID-19 update: Delivery times back to normal. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Another Turn of the Crank

Wendell Berry


ISBN: 9781582437460
ANNOTATION:
Wendell Berry proposes, and earnestly hopes, that people will learn once more to care for their local communities, and so begin a restoration that might spread over our entire nation and beyond. The renewed development of local economies would help preserve rural diversity despite the burgeoning global economy that threatens to homogenize and compromise communities all over the world. From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other. Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, "Another Turn of the Crank" reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.
Another Turn of the Crank
Product Unavailable
OTHER FORMATS:
ISBN: 9781582437460
ANNOTATION:
Wendell Berry proposes, and earnestly hopes, that people will learn once more to care for their local communities, and so begin a restoration that might spread over our entire nation and beyond. The renewed development of local economies would help preserve rural diversity despite the burgeoning global economy that threatens to homogenize and compromise communities all over the world. From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other. Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, "Another Turn of the Crank" reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.

Annotation

Wendell Berry proposes, and earnestly hopes, that people will learn once more to care for their local communities, and so begin a restoration that might spread over our entire nation and beyond. The renewed development of local economies would help preserve rural diversity despite the burgeoning global economy that threatens to homogenize and compromise communities all over the world. From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other. Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, "Another Turn of the Crank" reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.

Publisher Description

Wendell Berry proposes, and earnestly hopes, that people will learn once more to care for their local communities, and so begin a restoration that might spread over our entire nation and beyond. The renewed development of local economies would help preserve rural diversity despite the burgeoning global economy that threatens to homogenize and compromise communities all over the world. From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other. Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, Another Turn of the Crank reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.

Author Biography

Wendell Berry, an essayist, novelist, and poet, is the author of more than forty books. He lives in Henry County, Kentucky.

Long Description

"A Kentucky farmer and writer, and perhaps the great moral essayist of our day, Berry has produced one of his shortest but also most powerful volumes." The New York Review of Books "The rarest (and highest) of literary classes consist of that small group of authors who are absolutely inimitable . . . One of the half-dozen living American authors who belongs in this class is Wendell Berry." Los Angeles Times "Berry is a philosopher, poet, novelist, and an essayist in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau . . . like Thoreau, he marches to a different drummer, a drummer we would do well to be aware of, if not to march to." San Francisco Chronicle From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Wendell Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other. Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, Another Turn of the Crank reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.

Product Details

Pages
112
Year
2011
ISBN-10
1582437467
ISBN-13
9781582437460
Format
Paperback
Short Title
ANOTHER TURN OF THE CRANK
Language
English
Media
Book
Country of Publication
United States
Subtitle
Essays
Publication Date
2011-07-12
Publisher
Counterpoint
Author
Wendell Berry
Audience
General/Trade